Research Guides: Pharmacy: Databases

Package Inserts

DailyMed DailyMed provides high quality information about marketed drugs. This information includes FDA labels (package inserts).
Drugs@FDA Search for package inserts and information about FDA approved products.

Finding Journal Articles

Medline Ultimate Searchable citations for over 5,600 biomedical journals with full text available for more than 1,650 titles. See a full list of the titles available here.
Embase Embase includes six million+ records and 2,900+ journals that are not covered by MEDLINE including international journals. Over 30 million abstracts and indices from published, peer-reviewed biomedical literature, in-press publications and conferences are available on Embase. Full-text indexing of drug, disease and medical device data, supported by the Embase thesaurus Emtree, facilitates precise searching.
PubMed@Belmont search more than 34 million citations for biomedical literature from the MEDLINE database, life science journals, and online books. PubMed@Belmont includes links to full text of Belmont journal holdings
Academic Search Premier contains indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
SciFinder SciFinder Scholar provides access to research from biomedical sciences, chemistry and patents from many patent authorities. SciFinder Scholar is searchable by chemical structure, biological sequence, substructure and reaction. Registration is required. Go to http://bit.ly/SciFindernp to register.
SCOPUS Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. It delivers a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

Interlibrary Loan
Can't find it here? Borrow it from another library!

Additional Online Databases/Resources

Pyrls
To set up your account, visit this site and click the more button below for details.
more...less...
Complete this form in order to receive the Pyrls access code you will need to register for an account.
Sanford Guide

Anatomy TV 20 modules with clear 3D images and interactive models, narrated animations and illustrations, dissection slides you can label, clinical case studies, the impact of aging on each body systems, pronunciation guide, quizzes and much more.
Cochrane Library a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Cochrane reviews represent the highest level of evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions. In addition to Cochrane reviews, The Cochrane Library provides other sources of reliable information, from other systematic review abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations and individual clinical trials - all the current evidence in one single environment.
Medical Letter Includes access to The Medical Letter on Drugs and Therapeutics, Treatment Guidelines from The Medical Letter, Adverse Drug Interactions Program and Handbook of Antimicrobial Therapy. The Medical Letter, Inc. is a nonprofit organization that publishes critical appraisals of new prescription drugs and comparative reviews of previously approved drugs in its newsletters.
Nexis Uni Access over 6,000 news, business, and legal sources. The outstanding news coverage includes deep back files and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources.
RXSelect: Student Pharmacist RXSelect contains curated content from Pharmacist's Letter, a service for pharmacists that covers new developments in drug therapy and trends in pharmacy practice. It provides very short updates and advice. Its goal is to provide totally objective and unbiased data and advice related to drug therapy.
Here's how you can login:
1. Access RxSelect: Student Pharmacists: https://apps.therapeuticresearch.com/profile/account/create-sph
2. Complete new profile creation form (all students will need to create a new account, even if you had one prior)
3. Create your username and password when prompted
4. Once your username and password is created, you will be prompted to log in with that new information
5. You’re ready to start using RxSelect: Student Pharmacist
UpToDate Up-to-Date provides clinicians and patients topic reviews that include a synthesis of the literature, the latest evidence, and specific recommendations for patient care. Tips for logging in and creating personal accounts: https://belmont.libguides.com/uptodatelogin FOR USE BY 3RD AND 4TH YEAR UNDERGRAD NURSING, GRAD NURSING AND PHARMACY STUDENTS ONLY.

Major Compendia

Clinical Pharmacology Clinical Pharmacology provides content and tools for the following areas: monographs, drug class overviews, search capabilities, reports, product identification, product information, patient education and IV compatibility (by Trissel's).
Facts & Comparisons Facts & Comparisons eAnswers provides the most up-to-date drug information including access to Drug Facts and Comparisons, Drug Interaction Facts, Nonprescription Drug Therapy, Off-Label Drug Facts, clinical calculators, black box warnings, medication guides, and information on orphan drugs.
UpToDate Lexidrug UpToDate Lexidrug provides information on drug and drug interactions, drug allergies, drug therapy duplication, drug dose checking, diagnosis and disease management, formulary services, patient education, and clinical support.
MICROMEDEX Micromedex is unbiased, referenced information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine. This includes information on critical emergency, acute care and disease data as well as scientifically sound alternative medicine information.

United States Pharmacopeia Resources

USP-NF Online USP–NF contains official substance (ingredient) and product monographs as well as compounded preparations that can be legally marketed in the United States. This resource is published by the United States Pharmacopeial Convention (USP). Please click on "more..." below for information on how to create your account.
All students must create their own Access Point account by going to https://register.usp.org and clicking on the “Create new Account” link at the bottom of that page. Follow the instructions on the screen. Please note, you do not need a subscription key, but you must use your Belmont email address in order to get access.
USP Compounding Guidebook USP on Compounding offers convenient electronic access to all compounding-related and supporting General Chapters from the United States PharmacopeiaNational Formulary, plus General Notices and Requirements. Please click "more..." below for information on how to access this resource.
All students must create their own Access Point account by going to https://register.usp.org and clicking on the “Create new Account” link at the bottom of that page. Follow the instructions on the screen. Please note, you do not need a subscription key, but you must use the your Belmont email address in order to get access.
USP Dictionary Online of USAN and International Drug Names The most comprehensive, official source of established drug names and other essential drug information. Please click "more..." below for information on how to access this resource.
All students must create their own Access Point account by going to https://register.usp.org and clicking on the “Create new Account” link at the bottom of that page. Follow the instructions on the screen. Please note, you do not need a subscription key, but you must use the your Belmont email address in order to get access.

McGraw Hill Resources

Case Files Collection Collection of basic science, clinical rotation, and post-graduate cases in an interactive format to help students learn and retain knowledge through exposure to realistic patient cases. Personalized functionality lets users mark their progress through cases.
JAMAevidence Online resource for teaching, learning, and application of evidence based medicine. Learn to identify, appraise and use the best available evidence to assess health problems and the outcomes of health. Includes User’s Guides to the Medical Literature, calculators and critical appraisal worksheets

Natural Products Database

Facts & Comparisons Facts & Comparisons eAnswers provides the most up-to-date drug information including access to Drug Facts and Comparisons, Drug Interaction Facts, Nonprescription Drug Therapy, Off-Label Drug Facts, clinical calculators, black box warnings, medication guides, and information on orphan drugs.

To access the "Review of Natural Products" within Facts and Comparisons, search for the natural product in the home page search bar. The Natural Product Database should populate as a search result.

Merck Manual

The Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy by Robert S. Porter
ISBN: 9780911910193

Unique Features of Major Compendia

The following is a summary of the unique features of the major compendia: