Full Text of the Tennessean from 1812 - current (with a 1 day delay). Digitized pages provide unique historical insight into the regional issues and concerns, such as local government, industrialization, prohibition, and racial struggles. Provides Nashville and Middle Tennessee regional coverage.
Belmont University Students, Faculty and Staff have full access to the Nashville Business Journal through your laptop, tablet, and smart phone devices via the website as well as the mobile app. The Nashville Business Journal contains local Business News throughout the Nashville metropolitan area, across 18 different industries locally. To access The Nashville Business Journal's content, create a login using your Belmont email address.
This video demonstrates how to access and best navigate the site: NBJ Navigation Tips
Access over 6,000 news, business, and legal sources. The outstanding news coverage includes deep back files and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources.
The New York Times is an American daily newspaper based in New York City. The New York Times covers domestic, national, and international news, and publishes opinion pieces, investigative reports, and reviews. To access The New York Times' content, create a login using your Belmont email address. Follow these instructions if you need help creating a personal account. Once you've created your account, you can access NYTimes.com from anywhere, including via the NYTimes mobile apps! Every year, you'll need to log in to your account via the link above while on campus to keep it active.
The world isn't divided into academic articles and 'bad sources for papers'. Sometimes, you may find yourself using news sources. News articles can be really helpful for finding:
Local content. If you're writing about something going in your city, there is a good chance you won't find a peer-reviewed article specifically about your city. You can supplement a peer-reviewed article about a general topic with local context from a newspaper article.
Information about current events. It can take a long time to get academic article published; if you're researching something that happened recently, you might need to use news sources to get information on the event itself.
From the Nashville Business Journal, on April 1, 2020. (Sign up for an account to read full article. Instructions are in the Newspaper Databases box on the left!)
