Skip to Main Content

Pharmacy Resources by Topic

Back to the Pharmacy Guide

Major Compendia

Clinical Pharmacology Clinical Pharmacology provides content and tools for the following areas: monographs, drug class overviews, search capabilities, reports, product identification, product information, patient education and IV compatibility (by Trissel's).
Facts & Comparisons Facts & Comparisons eAnswers provides the most up-to-date drug information including access to Drug Facts and Comparisons, Drug Interaction Facts, Nonprescription Drug Therapy, Off-Label Drug Facts, clinical calculators, black box warnings, medication guides, and information on orphan drugs.
UpToDate Lexidrug UpToDate Lexidrug provides information on drug and drug interactions, drug allergies, drug therapy duplication, drug dose checking, diagnosis and disease management, formulary services, patient education, and clinical support.
MICROMEDEX Micromedex is unbiased, referenced information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine. This includes information on critical emergency, acute care and disease data as well as scientifically sound alternative medicine information.

Package Inserts

DailyMed DailyMed provides high quality information about marketed drugs. This information includes FDA labels (package inserts).
Drugs@FDA Search for package inserts and information about FDA approved products.

Finding Primary Literature

MEDLINE (MeSH Search) Search MEDLINE using MeSH
Embase Embase includes six million+ records and 2,900+ journals that are not covered by MEDLINE including international journals. Over 30 million abstracts and indices from published, peer-reviewed biomedical literature, in-press publications and conferences are available on Embase. Full-text indexing of drug, disease and medical device data, supported by the Embase thesaurus Emtree, facilitates precise searching.

Resources

Annual Review of Pharmacology and Toxicology
Pharmacology Lectures
Associated with Katzung & Trevor's Basic and Clinical Pharmacology, 12e

Books

AHFS Drug Information 2022 by ASHP
Call Number: QV 740 AA1 A53a
ISBN: 9781585286843
Available electronically in Stat!Ref
Also available in the DIC
Anticoagulation Therapy by William E. Dager; Michael Gulseth; Edith A. Nutescu; American Society of Health-System Pharmacists Staff (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9781585284894
Publication Date: 2018
Available on ASHP eBooks
Applied Pharmacokinetics and Pharmacodynamics by Jerome J. Schentag (Editor); William E. Evans (Editor); Michael E. Burton (Editor); Leslie M. Shaw (Editor)
Call Number: QV 38 A6527 2006
ISBN: 9780781744317
Publication Date: 2006
Available in the DIC
Also available in the Belmont library
Basic and Clinical Pharmacology 15e by Bertram G. Katzung; Anthony J. Trevor
ISBN: 9781260452310
Publication Date: 2020
Available on Access Pharmacy
Available on Access Medicine
Basic Concepts in Pharmacology: What You Need to Know for Each Drug Class, Sixth Edition by Janet L. Stringer
Call Number: QV 4 S918 2011
ISBN: 9781264264841
Publication Date: 2022
Available on Access Pharmacy
Available on Access Medicine
Brody's Human Pharmacology by Lynn Wecker (Editor); Susan L. Ingram (Editor)
Call Number: QV4 H918 2025
ISBN: 9780323846738
Publication Date: 2025
CLINICAL CHECKLIST®, LAB ADVISOR™ & DRUGPOINTS® SYSTEM
Publication Date: 2023
Available electronically in Stat!Ref
Clinical Pharmacokinetics and Pharmacodynamics by Malcolm Rowland; Thomas N. Tozer
Call Number: QV 38 R883c 2011
ISBN: 9780781750097
Publication Date: 2011
Available electronically on LWW Health Library
Also available in the DIC
Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses by April Hazard Vallerand; Cynthia A. Sanoski
ISBN: 9781719646406
Publication Date: 2022
Available on STAT!Ref
Adult Drug Information Handbook by Lexicomp (Compiled by)
Call Number: RM301.12 .D783
ISBN: 9781591953944
Publication Date: 2023
Available electronically in Lexi-Comp
Also available in the DIC
Goodman and Gilman's Manual of Pharmacology and Therapeutics by Randa Hilal-Dandan; Laurence L. Brunton; Louis S. Goodman
ISBN: 9780071769174
Publication Date: 2014
Available on Access Pharmacy
Goodman and Gilman's the Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 14th Edition by Laurence Brunton; Bjorn Knollmann
Call Number: QV 4 G66 2023
ISBN: 9781264258079
Publication Date: 2022
Available on Access Pharmacy
Available on Access Medicine
Available in the DIC (13th edition)
Katzung & Trevor's Pharmacology Examination and Board Review, Thirteenth Edition by Bertram G. Katzung; Marieke Kruidering-Hall; Rupa Lalchandani Tuan; Todd W. Vanderah; Anthony J. Trevor
ISBN: 9781260117127
Publication Date: 2021
Available on Access Pharmacy and Access Medicine
Lange Smart Charts Pharmacology by Catherine E. Pelletier
ISBN: 9780071774369
Publication Date: 2015
Available on Access Pharmacy
Modern Pharmacology with Clinical Applications by Charles R. Craig; Robert E. Stitzel
Call Number: QV 4 M6898 2004
ISBN: 9780781737623
Publication Date: 2004
Pharmacology by Karen Whalen
Call Number: QV 18.2 .P5365 2019
ISBN: 9781496384133
Publication Date: 2018
Katzung & Trevor's Pharmacology Examination and Board Review, Thirteenth Edition by Bertram G. Katzung; Marieke Kruidering-Hall; Rupa Lalchandani Tuan; Todd W. Vanderah; Anthony J. Trevor
ISBN: 9781260117127
Publication Date: 2021
Available on Access Pharmacy
Principles of Pharmacology by David E. Golan
Call Number: QV 38 P957 2017
ISBN: 9781451191004
Publication Date: 2017
Available electronically in LWW Health Library eBooks
Also available in the DIC
Understanding Drug Action by Peter J. Rice
ISBN: 1582121125
Publication Date: 2014
Available on APhA Pharmacy Library
Understanding Pharmacology for Pharmacy Technicians by Mary Ann Stuhan; American Society of Health-System Pharmacists Staff (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9781585282296
Publication Date: 2012
Available on ASHP eBooks
Workbook for Understanding Pharmacology for Pharmacy Technicians by Mary Ann Stuhan
ISBN: 9781585283835
Publication Date: 2014
Available on ASHP eBooks