Skip to Main Content

Cite Sources: Citation Tools

Help with the various citation styles (APA, MLA, etc)

Disclaimer - Read Me!

Read me first, before using any of these citation tools!

Databases and websites will often have tools to help you format your citations. These can be helpful in getting started with your citations, but no tool is perfect - you will need to double-check each citation, no matter what you use to generate it! Citation tools tend to make mistakes with personal names, capitalization and punctuation most frequently, so pay close attention to that in particular. Citation tools also usually only help with bibliography / works cited page citation - NOT your in-text citations. Consult the tab with the style you're using for more information on in-text citations like parenthetical citations and footnotes!

Citation Managers

Using citation management software is like having a secret weapon. Professional researchers and academics use them tostay organized and consistent These helpful applications can save articles, format bibliographies, and help you organize all of your research projects.

We have Research Guides for using three different citation managers - EndNote, Mendeley, and Zotero. See the links below to get started!

OneSearch Citation Tool

OneSearch, the library's search engine, is the search bar in the blue box on the library's homepage. It can help you generate citations for a variety of styles, including MLA, APA, Chicago/Turabian and Harvard. The GIF below demonstrates how to use OneSearch's citation tool. 

Here's how to cite a book or article in OneSearch:

  • Click the title in the search results.
  • Select the Citation button in the middle of the page. 
  • Select the style you're using (such as MLA). If you're not sure what style to use, ask your professor!
  • Copy and paste the citation in your bibliography/works cited page. Double check each part of the citation before you move onto your next citation!

EBSCO Database Citation Tool

EBSCO is the company that makes databases like Academic Search Premier, CINAHL, Education Source, SOCIndex and more. It can help you format citations for a variety of styles, including MLA, APA, Chicago/Turabian and Harvard. The GIF below demonstrates how to use the citation tool in an EBSCO database. 

Here's how to cite an article in an EBSCO database:

  • Click the title in the search results.
  • Click on the Cite link in the column labeled Tools on the right side of the page. A new box will appear in the middle of the page.
  • Scroll the list in this box until you find the style you're using. If you're not sure what style to use, ask your professor!
  • Copy and paste the citation in your bibliography/works cited page. Double check each part of the citation before you move onto your next citation!

JSTOR Citation Tool

JSTOR is a very popular database for a variety of subjects. It can help you format citations for a variety of styles, including MLA, APA, and Chicago/Turabian The GIF below demonstrates how to use the citation tool in JSTOR. 

Here's how to cite an article in JSTOR:

  • Click the title in the search results.
  • Click on the Cite This Item button on the left side of the page. 
  • A box with 3 different citation styles will appear on this page. Click the Copy button next to the style you're using for this project. If you're not sure what style to use, ask your professor!
  • Paste the citation in your bibliography/works cited page. Double check each part of the citation before you move onto your next citation!

Proquest Citation Tool

Proquest is yet another database company. It makes databases like Business Premium, the Vogue Archive, and more. It can help you format citations for a variety of styles, including MLA, APA, Chicago/Turabian and Harvard. The GIF below demonstrates how to use the citation tool in a Proquest database. 

Here's how to cite an article in a Proquest database:

  • Click the title in the search results.
  • Click on the Cite link on the right side of the page. 
  • The Cite box will pop-up on this page. Select your desired citation style in the drop-down box. If you're not sure what style to use, ask your professor!
  • Copy and paste the citation in your bibliography/works cited page. Double check each part of the citation before you move onto your next citation!