Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
On this page you'll find links to a variety of databases with scholarly journal articles, news, trade journals and other information.
To search most of these resources at the same time, use the OneSearch box below.
One Search (sm column)
Search OneSearch for articles, books & more
Students and faculty members involved with Belmont’s Shakespeare and Digital Literacy courses have created a web-based digital archive of Nashville’s local Shakespeare performances. Each performance has been documented through videos, photos, and text.
Book Review Digest Retrospective
Over 1.5 million book review citations and at least one substantial review excerpt (up to 500 words) per book for 300,000 books published between 1908 and 1982.
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete
more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
Gale Literary Index (TEL)
Gale's Literary Index is a master index to the major literature products published by Gale. It combines and cross-references over 165,000 author names, including pseudonyms and variant names, and listings for over 215,000 titles into one source.
Gale Literary Sources (TEL)
Literature Resource Center, Twayne’s Authors Series, and Scribner Writers Series have all been integrated into Gale Literary Sources, enabling researchers, faculty, and students to search across literary criticisms, original works, biographies, reviews, and more, in order to discover and analyze content in entirely new ways.
JSTOR Arts & Sciences
JSTOR offers high-quality, interdisciplinary content to support scholarship and teaching. It includes leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. Journals are always included from volume 1, issue 1 and include previous and unrelated titles.
Literary Criticism and Biography
Provides combined access to two reference collections, The Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete and Literature Criticism Online. This combined collection includes comprehensive biographical essays on literary figures and overviews of specific works and literary topics.
Literature Criticism Online
provides access to the Contemporary Literary Criticism, Nineteenth Literary Criticism, and Twentieth Century Literary Criticism
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)
Index to citations and abstracts (not full text) of selected journal articles and books in the field of literature.
Oxford English Dictionary
A full-text database that provides the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million English words, both present and past. This online version is updated quarterly with at least 1000 new and revised entries. The OED covers words from across the English-speaking world, and is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language.
Project MUSE is a 100%full-text online collection of several hundred titles in the arts, humanities and social sciences from 60 university and society presses. MUSE journals cover many fields of study including literature, history, politics and policy studies, economics, education, film, religion and women?s studies.