Research Guides: English: Book Reviews

Tips for finding book reviews

Look for a way to limit results to "reviews" or "book reviews" in each database. Many have this filter that will sort through the results more quickly.
Search using the title of the work being reviewed, and use quotation marks to indicate it is a phrase rather than individual keywords (ex. "Tortilla Flat").
Read the description of the databases listed on the right to determine which one will contain the date range of interest.
You may need to request an Interlibrary Loan to retrieve the full-text of a review.

Book Review Digest Retrospective
Over 1.5 million book review citations and at least one substantial review excerpt (up to 500 words) per book for 300,000 books published between 1908 and 1982.
Historic New York Times (1851-2019)
Full-text of the New York Times from 1851-2010. In the "document type" menu select "review."
JSTOR Arts & Sciences
Contains archives of journals, some dating back to the 1600's. Limit to "reviews" on the advanced search screen to find book reviews.
Project MUSE
Most reviews are from 1990s or 2000s. Check box next to "reviews" on results page.

The New York Review of Books
Reviews from 1963-present. Search the website (http://www.nybooks.com/issues/) to find a review, then access the full-text through Bunch Library microfiche.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
American newspapers from 1836-1922.
The Times Digital Archive
Access full-text from 1785-2006. Select "reviews" on advanced search screen.

Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature
Call Number: Ref AI3 .R48 , First floor
Publication Date: 1915-March 2006
A print reference guide to published articles in magazines and journals. Before 1976, search by title or author's last name. From 1976, book reviews are in a separate section at the end of each volume.