Research Guides: English: Home

Quick Links

Library Catalog
Search for books, journals, media and other items the library owns.
A to Z list of all databases
full list of the library's online resources organized alphabetically by name.
E-journals
Use this to access by title e-journals that the library subscribes to.
E-journals by Subject
See the library's journals listed by subject area.
Interlibrary Loan
Can't find it here? Borrow it from another library!
OneSearch
Search most of the library's resources from one search box.
Video Tutorials
Tutorials for using various library resources

OneSearch

Search OneSearch for articles, books & more

Welcome!

This guide is designed to help Belmont students and faculty find and access resources in English. Explore the tabs to find helpful information on where to find background information, books, databases, and more. Please contact me using the email link to the right at any point in time. I'm here to help!

Most Used Resources

Below you'll find the most used resources for English. Find more resources on the Books and Databases tabs above.

Gale Literary Sources
Literature Resource Center, Twayne’s Authors Series, and Scribner Writers Series have all been integrated into Gale Literary Sources, enabling researchers, faculty, and students to search across literary criticisms, original works, biographies, reviews, and more, in order to discover and analyze content in entirely new ways.
JSTOR Arts & Sciences
JSTOR offers high-quality, interdisciplinary content to support scholarship and teaching. It includes leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. Journals are always included from volume 1, issue 1 and include previous and unrelated titles.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)
Index to citations and abstracts (not full text) of selected journal articles and books in the field of literature.
Oxford English Dictionary
A full-text database that provides the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million English words, both present and past. This online version is updated quarterly with at least 1000 new and revised entries. The OED covers words from across the English-speaking world, and is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language.
Project MUSE
Project MUSE is a 100%full-text online collection of several hundred titles in the arts, humanities and social sciences from 60 university and society presses. MUSE journals cover many fields of study including literature, history, politics and policy studies, economics, education, film, religion and women?s studies.

Ask a Librarian

Nicole Fox

Email Me

Contact:

First Floor, Bunch Library

615.460.6955

Subjects: Architecture, Art, English, Fashion Design, Fashion Merchandising, First Year Seminar (FYS), First Year Writing (FYW), For Faculty, Interior Design, Research Help