Home - General Resources - Music Research Guide - Research Guides at Belmont University

About this Guide

Welcome to your online Music Library! Here's how to use this guide:

Home page: some of the most-used sources in music research live here. They are great if you are trying to figure out a topic or need a quick bit of information.
MUH course guides: find resources for the study of music history. These resources are some of the same that we discuss in our class sessions.
Major guides: feature specialized resources for individual majors.
Citations page: cite sources in Turabian Author-Date format
DEI in Music: find resources and information by and about underrepresented groups of musicians
Graduate Student Resources: Advanced resources and culminating project information
Online Exhibits: learn about some of the specialized and valuable resources in Music Special Collections.
Music Business: redirects you to the Music Business Research Guide

If you need more information about a resource, hover over the 'i' icon. Have fun exploring, and if you have any questions, contact the Music Librarian!

Search the Library Catalog

Search Library Catalog

Find books, journals, scores, CDs, videorecordings and more

Advanced Search

Start Your Research Here

General Reference Sources
*These are great resources if you need to figure out a topic!*

Grove / Oxford Music Online Oxford Music Online is the gateway offering users the ability to access and cross-search multiple music reference resources in one location. With Grove Music Online as its cornerstone, Oxford Music Online also contains The Oxford Companion to Music (2002), The Oxford Dictionary of Music, 2nd edition (revised 2006), and Colin Larkin's landmark Encyclopedia of Popular Music, 4th edition (2006).
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Music OBO: Music combines the best features of a high-level encyclopedia and a traditional bibliography in a style tailored to meet the needs of today's online researchers. Each article, written and reviewed by top scholars in the field, is rich with citations and annotations, expert recommendations, and narrative pathways to the most important works for virtually all areas of music.
Oxford History of Western Music The online edition of Richard Taruskin's book offers an unmatched account of the evolution of Western classical music
Encyclopedia of Popular Music Featuring a broad musical scope covering popular music of all genres and periods from 1900 to the present day, including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music, the Encyclopedia also offers thousands of additional entries covering popular music genres, trends, styles, record labels, venues, and music festivals. Key dates, biographies, and further reading are provided for artists covered.
Classical Music Library Classical Music Library is the world's largest multi-label database of Classical music recordings for listening and learning in libraries. The growing collection of tracks includes recordings from the world's greatest labels including Hyperion, Bridge Records, and many more. Coverage includes music written from the earliest times (e.g. Gregorian Chant) to the present, including many contemporary composers. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, and more. If you have trouble accessing this resource, please use your browser's "private window" function

Find Articles

JSTOR Arts & Sciences JSTOR offers high-quality, interdisciplinary content to support scholarship and teaching. It includes leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. Journals are always included from volume 1, issue 1 and include previous and unrelated titles.
Music Periodicals Database (IIMP) Music Periodicals Database (IIMP) provides indexing, abstracting and selected full-text coverage of the most important scholarly and popular music journals published today.

Find Sheet Music

Naxos Sheet Music Library The FreeHandMusic.com catalogue contains thousands of original scores from the world?s leading publishers, artists and composers, including Oxford University Press, Josef Weinberger, Universal Edition, Chick Corea, Sir James Galway, Joe Lovano, Edizioni Pizzicato, Sikorski Musikverlage, and - as they say - many, many more. Download, transpose, and/or print Legacy Edition sheet music instantly.

Petrucci Music Library (IMSLP) A community-built library of public domain sheet music. Extensive collection of original scores scanned to PDF.

Find Streaming Audio

Naxos Music Library (Classical) The Naxos Music Library is the most comprehensive collection of music available online, offering the complete Naxos, Marco Polo and Da Capo catalogues, as well as jazz and world music and educational products and full liner notes. Over 75,000 tracks available on campus or at home. Use of this resource is limited to ten (10) simultaneous users. If you are unable to access it, please try again later.
Naxos Music Library (Jazz) Notable historic recordings (23,000 tracks) include the likes of Count Basie, Ella Fitzgerald, Chet Baker, Dave Brubeck, Miles Davis, Thelonious Monk, Bill Evans, John Coltrane, and the Modern Jazz Quartet to name a few. Soul artists like The Blackbyrds, the Staple Singers, Issac Hayes, and Albert King are also featured. On the rock n' roll side of things it features artists like Little Richard, Sam Cooke, the Soul Stirrers Lloyd Price and Creedance Clearwater Revival. Use of this resource is limited to three (3) simultaneous users. If you are unable to access it, please try again later.

Find Streaming Video

Naxos Video Library The Naxos Video Library is a performing arts video library with over 300 operas, ballets, documentaries, live concerts, and musical tours of historic places. It includes the Naxos DVD label, Opus Arte, Arthaus, Dacapo, EuroArts, among others and is continuously updated to offer the best selection of performing arts videos. Use of this resource is limited to five (5) simultaneous users. If you are unable to access it, please try again later.
Dance in Video Dance in Video is the definitive video collection for the study of 20th Century concert dance, featuring the most influential performers and companies together with dozens of documentaries, interviews, and dance instruction videos. The collection provides coverage in breadth and depth for modern dance forms, and is relevant to dance history, dance analysis, dance instruction. It includes an overview of 20th Century concert dance, including the forerunners and pioneers of modern dance, covering ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisation; an invaluable resource as dance is an inherently visual medium. If you have trouble accessing this resource, please use your browser's "private window" function
Opera in Video Opera in Video is a comprehensive collection of operatic performances covering the most commonly studied operas in music history, opera literature, and performance classes. The collection contains 500 hours of video comprising 288 operatic works. If you have trouble accessing this resource, please use your browser's "private window" function

For Vocalists!

IPA Source IPA Sources is the largest collection of literal translations and International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions on the web. The goal of IPA Source is to promote the comprehension and accurate pronunciation of foreign language texts in art song and opera in order that the singer may imbue each syllable with the appropriate emotional content.

Music Research Guide

Trial Database

Interesting Websites

Your Librarian!

About this Guide

Search the Library Catalog

Search Library Catalog

Start Your Research Here