Nursing: Databases

the definitive resource for nursing and allied health research, providing full text for more than 900 journals. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU modules and research instruments

a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Cochrane reviews represent the highest level of evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions. In addition to Cochrane reviews, The Cochrane Library provides other sources of reliable information, from other systematic review abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations and individual clinical trials - all the current evidence in one single environment.

Searchable citations for over 5,600 biomedical journals with full text available for more than 1,650 titles. See a full list of the titles available here.

search more than 34 million citations for biomedical literature from the MEDLINE database, life science journals, and online books. PubMed@Belmont includes links to full text of Belmont journal holdings

AccessMedicine provides residents and nurse practitioners with interactive content, self-assessment, and leading medical texts to enhance decision-making at the point-of-care. It includes a complete full-text library of clinical and basic science textbooks, including Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine, CURRENT Medical Diagnosis & Treatment, The Color Atlas of Family Medicine, and many others.

Regularly-updated, online resource that allows users to explore leading pharmacy references, search curriculum topics, research drugs and supplements, and keep up with the latest pharmacy news.

20 modules with clear 3D images and interactive models, narrated animations and illustrations, dissection slides you can label, clinical case studies, the impact of aging on each body systems, pronunciation guide, quizzes and much more.

Works best on Firefox or Chrome. Internet Explorer is no longer supported.
A directory of publishing opportunities in a number of fields, including Business, Education, Psychology, Computer Science and Health Administration and Nursing. Includes information on the style and format required as well as the review process used.
Also includes as list of journals that have been flagged as predatory journals.

This comprehensive case collection from McGraw Hill helps students learn and apply basic science and clinical medicine concepts in the context of realistic patient cases.

A multipurpose learning platform with ebooks, journals, procedure videos, multimedia, clinical overviews, drug monographs, calculators, guidelines, patient education and more.

Provides a readable, digestible, clinically focused entry point to rigorous research from Cochrane systematic reviews. They are designed to be actionable and to inform decision making at the point of care. Each Cochrane Clinical Answer contains a clinical question, a short answer, and an opportunity to drill down to the evidence from relevant Cochrane reviews.

DSM 5 is the handbook used by health care professionals in the United States and much of the world as the authoritative guide to the diagnosis of mental disorders. It contains descriptions, symptoms, and other criteria for diagnosing mental disorders. It also provides a common language for researchers to study the criteria for potential future revisions and to aid in the development of medications and other interventions.

Provides information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the fields of health, psychosocial sciences, and organizational behavior.
Use of this resource is limited to one (1) simultaneous user. If you are unable to access it, please try again later.

Provides up-to-date information on the complete range of health care topics for students, consumer health researchers, and health care professionals. **Material in this database is intended for informational purposes only.**

Covers all aspects of the nursing profession, from direct patient care to health care administration. The database offers current and authoritative content for professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing‐focused curriculum.

Provides authoritative information on a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative and complementary medical practices. This is a consumer health database.
**Material is intended for informational purposes only.**

Embase includes six million+ records and 2,900+ journals that are not covered by MEDLINE including international journals. Over 30 million abstracts and indices from published, peer-reviewed biomedical literature, in-press publications and conferences are available on Embase. Full-text indexing of drug, disease and medical device data, supported by the Embase thesaurus Emtree, facilitates precise searching.

Evidence-based medicine (EBM) integrates the best available evidence with clinical experience that allows clinicians to recommend, and their patients to make, informed choices consistent with their values. JAMAevidence helps decision makers identify the best available evidence by providing guides to the systematic consideration of the validity, importance, and applicability of claims about the assessment of health problems and the outcomes of health care.

UpToDate Lexidrug provides information on drug and drug interactions, drug allergies, drug therapy duplication, drug dose checking, diagnosis and disease management, formulary services, patient education, and clinical support.

Interactive online access to 35 textbooks on core/fundamental topics, plus procedural videos, images, real-life case studies, and quiz banks for medical and health science students and practitioners.

A collection of streaming videos that offers videos on

• Nursing Skills – with titles covering core clinical skills as well as the unique skills needed in emergency and medical-surgical nursing.


• Patient Care and Interventions – covering the best practices of care for a wide range of conditions and scenarios, including geriatric care, home health nursing, abuse and violence, hospice and palliative care, oncology, psychiatric care, gynecology and obstetrics, pain management, and pediatric and neonatal care.


• Nursing Foundations – includes videos on anatomy and physiology, diet and nutrition, pharmacology, and lifespan development.


• Diseases, Disorders, and Disabilities – includes videos on cardiovascular, infectious, and communicable diseases, learning disabilities, and developmental, metabolic and endocrine, respiratory, neurological, and psychiatric disorders.


• Special Topics in Nursing – covering critical situations that nurses encounter in addition to their core responsibilities, including ethical and legal issues, health and safety for health care providers, management and leadership, and medical research and advances.

A collection of nursing and health science ebooks, including access to Doody's Core Titles

The Sanford Guide offers point-of-care recommendations for the treatment of infectious diseases.

Science Direct is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 3,900 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books. There are currently more than 9.5 million articles/chapters on subjects in the Health & Life Sciences, Physical Sciences, and Social & Behavioral Sciences.

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. It delivers a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

A collection of medical ebooks related to both nursing and pharmacy.

An online mental health film library of over 500 DSM 5 and ICD Guided Films provide viewers with training tools critical for symptom recognition. These films offer visual guideposts to better understand what a particular mental health diagnosis looks like and decrease the stigma for those facing psychological issues.

Up-to-Date provides clinicians and patients topic reviews that include a synthesis of the literature, the latest evidence, and specific recommendations for patient care.
Tips for logging in and creating personal accounts: https://belmont.libguides.com/uptodatelogin
FOR USE BY 3RD AND 4TH YEAR UNDERGRAD NURSING, GRAD NURSING AND PHARMACY STUDENTS ONLY.

VisualDx is a clinical decision support tool: search by symptoms, visual clues and other patient factors, by diagnosis, or by medication. VisualDx clinical decision support provides instant access to concise disease information and high-quality medical images to assist in diagnosis, to direct testing, and to guide management and therapy decisions.