Research Guides: Legal Studies: Case Law

Federal Courts

Nexis Uni
Access over 6,000 news, business, and legal sources. The outstanding news coverage includes deep back files and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources.
WestlawNext Campus Research
With a new, improved interface, Campus Research is even easier to use to access a comprehensive collection of news and business information and law-related resources including legal encyclopedias; full-text federal and state court decisions, statutes and administrative materials; Harvard Law Review and 600-plus other law reviews and journals; and expertly authored treatises.

Google Scholar
Search published opinions of U.S. federal district, appellate, tax and bankruptcy court cases since 1923; and U.S. Supreme Court cases since 1791.
U.S. Supreme Court Official Site
Text of U.S. Reports from 1991 (502 U.S. __) to the present, including opinions, orders, and other materials; opinions from 2009 to the present; briefs; and transcripts/audio of arguments.
US Circuit Courts of Appeals
Links to official websites for Circuit Courts.
US District Courts
Links to opinions from some, but not all, District Courts (West Virginia is not included right now), some back to April 2004.
Public Access to Court Electronic Records (PACER)
An electronic public access service that allows users to obtain case and docket information online from federal appellate, district, and bankruptcy courts, and the PACER Case Locator.

Nexis Uni
Access over 6,000 news, business, and legal sources. The outstanding news coverage includes deep back files and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources.
WestlawNext Campus Research
With a new, improved interface, Campus Research is even easier to use to access a comprehensive collection of news and business information and law-related resources including legal encyclopedias; full-text federal and state court decisions, statutes and administrative materials; Harvard Law Review and 600-plus other law reviews and journals; and expertly authored treatises.

Google Scholar
Search published opinions of U.S state appellate and supreme court cases since 1950.
National Center for State Courts - State Court Websites
Judicial branch links for each state, focusing on the administrative office of the courts, the court of last resort, any intermediate appellate courts, and each trial court level.