Public Health by
Using a straightforward systems approach, Public Health: What It Is and How It Works explores the inner workings of the complex, modern U.S. public health system--what it is, what it does, how it works, and why it is important. The book covers the origins and development of the modern public health system; the relationship of public health to the overall health system; how the system is organized at the federal, state, and local levels; its core functions and how well these are currently being addressed; evidence-based practice and an approach to program planning and evaluation for public health interventions; public health activities such as epidemiological investigation, biomedical research, environmental assessment, policy development, and more.
Delivering Health Care in America by
Delivering Health Care in America, Eighth Edition is the most current and comprehensive overview of the basic structures and operations of the U.S. health system--from its historical origins and resources, to its individual services, cost, and quality. Using a unique "systems" approach, the text brings together an extraordinary breadth of information into a highly accessible, easy-to-read resource that clarifies the complexities of health care organization and finance while presenting a solid overview of how the various components fit together.The Eighth Edition of this highly current, forward-thinking text offers:- Updated new data for tables, charts, figures, and text based on the latest published data- New and emerging characteristics of the U.S. healthcare system such as 'accountable care,' 'integrated delivery,' and 'pay for value'- Coverage of COVID-19 topics in chapters 2, 5, 6, and 14- The latest on the Affordable Care Act including its effects of insurance, access, and cost. - The latest in medical technology (artificial intelligence, electronic health records, Right to Try Act of 2018, etc.) along with integration of the digital environment throughout the text.- Current challenges and issues facing the U.S. health care system, such as care for populations with special needs and behavioral health services.- Navigate eBook access (included with each print text) provides entry to the enriched digital text, which includes chapter quizzes, interactive glossary and weblinks.
Gordis Epidemiology by
From the Department of Epidemiology at Johns Hopkins University and continuing in the tradition of award-winning educator and epidemiologist Dr. Leon Gordis, comes the fully revised 6th Edition of Gordis Epidemiology. This bestselling text provides a solid introduction to basic epidemiologic principles as well as practical applications in public health and clinical practice, highlighted by real-world examples throughout. New coverage includes expanded information on genetic epidemiology, epidemiology and public policy, and ethical and professional issues in epidemiology, providing a strong basis for understanding the role and importance of epidemiology in today's data-driven society. Covers the basic principles and concepts of epidemiology in a clear, uniquely memorable way, using a wealth of full-color figures, graphs, charts, and cartoons to help you understand and retain key information. Reflects how epidemiology is practiced today, with a new chapter organization progressing from observation and developing hypotheses to data collection and analyses. Features new end-of-chapter questions for quick self-assessment, and a glossary of genetic terminology. Provides more than 200 additional multiple-choice epidemiology self-assessment questions online. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Control of Communicable Diseases Manual by 
The Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health by Google Books provides full-text access to titles that are in the public domain or have copyright permissions from the owner of the work. Only a preview is available for many titles that have copyright restrictions, but this can oftentimes be enough content to decide if the book is what you are looking for. Use Google Books to identify titles, then check the Bunch Library catalog or request an Interlibrary Loan to retrieve it.
