Research Guides: Research Help: Databases and Articles

Database List Explanation

Bunch Library provides access to over 300 databases! There are a few ways to go about selecting a relevant database from this lengthy list.

Go through a research guide. Librarians have identified the most used resources for each subject and these are highlighted on the first page of each research guide.
On the list of databases, use the subject drop down menu at the top to see a short list of databases containing relevant information for that discipline.
On the list of databases, use the database type drop down menu at the top to see databases by type. For example, choose "Primary Sources" or "Newspapers" to see what databases include these types of resources.

Interlibrary Loan

If you have checked Bunch Library and no full-text access is available, the next step is to request an Interlibrary Loan (ILL). This service allows you to request items from outside of the Bunch Library collections for free. Check out the ILL page to learn more and place a request.

Best Bets

Need peer-reviewed journals and other scholarly sources, and you're not sure where to start? Check out one of these general databases - they're great for almost any research topic, and are some of our most popular databases.

Academic Search Premier
contains indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
JSTOR Arts & Sciences
JSTOR offers high-quality, interdisciplinary content to support scholarship and teaching. It includes leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. Journals are always included from volume 1, issue 1 and include previous and unrelated titles.
ScienceDirect
Science Direct is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 3,900 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books. There are currently more than 9.5 million articles/chapters on subjects in the Health & Life Sciences, Physical Sciences, and Social & Behavioral Sciences.

Finding Full Text

Do you have an article title or citation, but you can't find the full-text anywhere? Check out this video for your next steps.