Research Guides: Religion: Databases

About the Resources on this Page

On this page you will find recommended resources for obtaining information on topics in religion. You can access scholarly journal articles, newspaper articles, reports, opinions and more on current issues in the religious studies field.

Explore Scholarly Journals

Databases

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
The ATLA Religion Database is an essential tool for the study of religion. It is the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion, with full-text of articles in selected journals.. Coverage areas for ATLA RDB include: Bible, archaeology, and antiquities; human culture and society; church history, missions, and ecumenism; pastoral ministry; world religions and religious studies; and theology, philosophy, and ethics
JSTOR Arts & Sciences
JSTOR offers high-quality, interdisciplinary content to support scholarship and teaching. It includes leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. Journals are always included from volume 1, issue 1 and include previous and unrelated titles.
Religion & Philosophy Collection
Religion and Philosophy Collection is a comprehensive database with nearly 300 full-text journals and unparalleled coverage of topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
Gale OneFile: Religion and Philosophy
Covers religion and the related areas of philosophy and anthropology.
Ministry Matters
The Ministry Matters reference library includes the entire New Interpreters Bible, New Interpreters Dictionary, Storyteller's Companion to the Bible, the Works of John Wesley: Bicentennial Edition with complete notes and commentary, and tens of thousands of additional pages of resources: Bible reference materials, sermon helps, lectionary materials, and worship elements. Also includes access to This Sunday magazine.

Oxford Reference - Religion
Religion encompasses the systematic study of world religions and faiths. Oxford Reference coverage comprises authoritative, highly accessible information on the very latest terminology, concepts, faiths, theories, techniques, people, institutions, and organizations relating to all areas of religion—from the Christian Church, Islam, Buddhism, Hinduism, Judaism, and other World Religions, to Popes, the Bible, Saints, Islamic and Christian Art and Architecture, Islam and Women, and many more.

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Biblical Studies
Oxford Bibliographies in Biblical Studies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides that combine the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia. Each article is an authoritative guide to the current scholarship on a topic with original commentary and annotations by top scholars.

Ask a Librarian

Gypsy Moody

Email Me

Contact:

Bunch Library, 2nd Floor

615-460-5497

Subjects: For Faculty, Foreign Languages, Religion, Research Help, World Religions

Scripture Search

Instructions on how to search for a particular Bible Verse in ATLA

PDF of Pericope Search Step by Step