Research Guides: Music Business: Music Data

Music Data on the Web

Market Watch from Billboard
Billboard's weekly national music sales report
Music Business Association: Insights
Recording Industry Association of America: Research and Data
Statistical summaries on U.S. and worldwide record sales, and consumers of recorded music, marketing reports, and consumer trends.
Future of Music Coalition
MusicWatch
Music consumer research and analyst services; some reports freely available
ForTunes
Basic streaming and social media tracking from Spotify, YouTube, SoundCloud, Instagram, Facebook, and Twitter. Sign up for the "starter" access for free.
Kworb
Kworb provides daily or weekly insights into charts across the digital music landscape.

Music Data through Bunch Library

Music Connect
Complete this form in order to log in to Music Connect.
Music Connect is a web-based tool that gives you a complete view of music consumption across airplay, sales, streaming, and social data for artists, albums, and songs, all in one place. As the official source of the Billboard charts with over 25 years of historical data, this interface connects multiple metrics to give you a comprehensive view of performance and trends across the music industry.
Use of this resource is limited to one (1) simultaneous user.
Music Industry Data
Music Industry Data is a database of popular music chart data from around the world. From the US, UK, Europe, South America and Asia, Music Industry Data delivers access to an authoritative database under exclusive academic license from Billboard, the Official Charts Company and many more.
MIDiA Research
Complete this form in order to log into MIDiA Research. Use of this resource is limited to one (1) simultaneous user.
Powerful data tools, global metrics and expert industry analysis across music, video, TV, sports, media, games, telco marketing and brands. Information available includes monthly analyst reports, cloud data tools, consumer data, market forecasts and market trends.
Hit Songs Deconstructed
Updated weekly as songs enter the Billboard Hot 100 Top 10, this robust, fully interactive database houses proprietary data for the compositional characteristics of those songs, as well as related industry data for songwriters, artists, producers and record labels.

Searches include the ability to search for compositional and industry trends, find songs with very specific compositional characteristics, and compare compositional characteristics across songs, songwriters, artists, producers, and record labels.

Every song in the database includes a dedicated page detailing its key compositional characteristics related to genres and influences, lead vocal, lyrics and song structure, as well as other useful information such chart position, links to lyrics, the official video and more.

Live performance data on the web

Pollstar
Ticket prices and attendance numbers available for recent concerts.
Playbill
Provides information on weekly grosses of Broadway shows including comparisons across weeks, average ticket prices, seats sold, number of performances, etc.

Demographics and Consumer Trends

Social Explorer
Provides quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. Note Requires registering a free account once you access the database.
Statista
Data aggregation and research platform with statistics and information covering worldwide markets, industries, and societal topics

Pew Internet and American Life Project
Reports on demographics, music downloading and file sharing (keyword search "music downloading)
Claritas: My Best Segments
Some market research available for the public without a login. Search for consumer and demographic information using the "zip code lookup" and "segment details" sections of this website.