Mental Health Counseling: Databases

Doctoral dissertations completed at universities worldwide. Also includes some master's theses and foreign language dissertations. The full text for most dissertations added since 1997 is available, and those that are not may be available via Interlibrary loan

Scholarly articles and books in psychology and related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, education, social work, law, criminology, social science, and organizational behavior. Also includes full-text coverage from scholarly journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and allied organizations. Coverage spans 1800s to present.

search more than 34 million citations for biomedical literature from the MEDLINE database, life science journals, and online books. PubMed@Belmont includes links to full text of Belmont journal holdings

SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. Its extensive scope and content provide users with a wealth of extremely useful information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study.

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.

Provides access to academic journals and magazines that cover the study of emotions, personality, and the human mind. Offers content in all fields of psychology of interest to both researchers and general users.

Psychological Experiments Online pairs audio and video recordings of quintessential experiments in psychology with thousands of pages of primary-source documents. It's packed with exclusive and hard-to-find materials, including notes from experiment participants, journal articles, books, field notes, and final reports in topics from obedience to authority and conformity to operant conditioning.
If you have trouble accessing this resource, please use your browser's "private window" function

Provides information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the fields of health, psychosocial sciences, and organizational behavior.
Use of this resource is limited to one (1) simultaneous user. If you are unable to access it, please try again later.

Science Direct is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 3,900 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books. There are currently more than 9.5 million articles/chapters on subjects in the Health & Life Sciences, Physical Sciences, and Social & Behavioral Sciences.

JSTOR offers high-quality, interdisciplinary content to support scholarship and teaching. It includes leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. Journals are always included from volume 1, issue 1 and include previous and unrelated titles.

DSM 5 is the handbook used by health care professionals in the United States and much of the world as the authoritative guide to the diagnosis of mental disorders. It contains descriptions, symptoms, and other criteria for diagnosing mental disorders. It also provides a common language for researchers to study the criteria for potential future revisions and to aid in the development of medications and other interventions.

Works best on Firefox or Chrome. Internet Explorer is no longer supported.

Access to videos for training of mental health professionals.

An online mental health film library of over 500 DSM 5 and ICD Guided Films provide viewers with training tools critical for symptom recognition. These films offer visual guideposts to better understand what a particular mental health diagnosis looks like and decrease the stigma for those facing psychological issues.

The place to begin instruction in play therapy. Uses puppets to communicate the rationale, priniciples, and basic skills of play therapy.

The premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion, with full-text of articles from selected journals.

Searchable citations for over 5,600 biomedical journals with full text available for more than 1,650 titles. See a full list of the titles available here.

A comprehensive database with nearly 300 full-text journals and coverage of topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, moral philosophy and history of philosophy.

SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. Its extensive scope and content provide users with a wealth of extremely useful information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study.

Coverage of more than 500 full-text journals, many peer-reviewed, covering all areas of sociology.