Research Guides: Education Policy & Advocacy: Home

Library Resources

The links below go to resources provided by Bunch Library. These resources include both news and journal articles about a wide variety of topics.

Academic Search Premier
contains indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Education Source
Journal articles on all levels of education (from early childhood to higher education) and all educational specialties (such as multilingual education, health education, and testing)
Education Week
Premier source of news, information, and analysis on K-12 education in the United States. Create an account with your Belmont email address for easier off-campus access.
APA PsycArticles
Full-text coverage from scholarly journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and allied organizations. Coverage spans 1894 to present.
ERIC Education Index
Sponsored by the US Department of Education, this database contains journal articles, books, research reports, teaching, and more on the topic of education research and resources. Includes all areas of education, from early intervention (birth to age three), preschool, K-12 (public and private), and higher education. Includes bilingual, special, gifted, and computer education..
The National Center for Education Evaluation, Institute of Education Sciences, announced that they are working with the Department of Government Efficiency to “reduce overall Federal spending” and “reallocate spending to promote efficiency”. The number of records added to the ERIC collection will be significantly reduced going forward. The number of actively catalogued sources will be reduced by approximately 45% starting April 24, 2025.

Subject matter was not considered during the process to identify which sources would be made inactive, and all records currently in ERIC will remain available.

As soon as Bunch Library receives a final list of retained sources (journals and non-journals), we will make that list available.

Newspapers

The Tennessean is considered the newspaper of record for Tennessee. Many consider the New York Times to be a newspaper of record. Washington Post and Wall Street Journal are also highly regarded. The links below will let you access and search the content of a variety of local and national newspapers.

Tennessean
Full Text of the Tennessean from 1812 - current (with a 1 day delay). Digitized pages provide unique historical insight into the regional issues and concerns, such as local government, industrialization, prohibition, and racial struggles. Provides Nashville and Middle Tennessee regional coverage.
Nashville Post
The Nashville Post focuses on covering the region’s biggest business and political news stories. The website has the latest news as well as topics such as business, politics, and sports. Users can also browse their e-magazine online and view photos from local events. Users will need to register for an account using their Belmont email address.
New York Times (nytimes.com)
The New York Times is an American daily newspaper based in New York City. The New York Times covers domestic, national, and international news, and publishes opinion pieces, investigative reports, and reviews. To access The New York Times' content, create a login using your Belmont email address. Once you've created your account, you can access NYTimes.com from anywhere, including via the NYTimes mobile apps! Every year, you'll need to log in to your account via the link above while on campus to keep it active.
Historic New York Times (1851-2019)
The New York Times (1851-2019) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Wall Street Journal
The Wall Street Journal, also referred to simply as the Journal, is an American newspaper based in New York City, with a focus on business and finance. To access The Wall Street Journal's content, create a login using your Belmont email address.
Newspapers.com Southeast Collection
Newspapers.com Southeast Edition provides online access to historical newspapers (dating from the early 1700s into the 2000s) from the southeast United States including over 2000 historic and recent newspapers in Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Florida, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Tennessee, Virginia and West Virginia.
Knoxville News-Sentinel
Full text coverage from 1887 - current (with a 1 day delay)
Memphis Commercial Appeal
Full text of the Memphis Commercial Appeal from 1847 - present (with a 1 day delay)

All Newspapers
A list of all of the newspapers or newspaper resources that Bunch Library provides access to.

Law Specific Resources

If you'd like to do a deep dive into federal legislation, the resources below can help you with that.

Hein Online
A collection of legal titles containing over 70 million pages in PDF format. Titles include the Law Journal Library, English Reports, American Law Institute Library, and many others.
ProQuest Congressional
Explore Congress in action with the most comprehensive online resource available for congressional publications and legislative research.
Use ProQuest Congressional to:Pinpoint expert testimony on the leading issues of the day; Tap authoritative sources of statistics, projections, and analyses; Discover a law's intent by tracing its legislative history; Obtain information about Members of Congress; Access the full text primary source congressional publications; Monitor legislation and public policy on almost any topic; Review the Federal regulations that implement legislation; Learn the makeup and mission of congressional committees
ProQuest Legislative Insight
Full-text publication types associated with a legislative history include the Public Law text, all versions of enacted and related bills, Congressional Record excerpts, and committee hearings, reports, and documents. All of these publication types can be used in court to determine the intent of Congress in enacting legislation in cases where the statutory language is ambiguous. Other full-text publication types included to provide users with background material are committee prints, CRS reports, and miscellaneous congressional publications. Presidential signing statements are also included.
WestlawNext Campus Research
With a new, improved interface, Campus Research is even easier to use to access a comprehensive collection of news and business information and law-related resources including legal encyclopedias; full-text federal and state court decisions, statutes and administrative materials; Harvard Law Review and 600-plus other law reviews and journals; and expertly authored treatises.

Education Policy & Advocacy

Ask a Librarian

Current Events Resources

Library Resources

Newspapers

Law Specific Resources