Fashion: Images

"We are the premier source for runway images in the fashion world, providing countless publications and websites with the fashion images they need." Note that not all content is available for free.

A fashion specific image search engine. Search by designer, season, city or more.

From the Los Angeles Public Library. "Over 6,200 hand-colored, finely detailed fashion illustrations produced between 1780 and 1880 for British and American fashion magazines. The plates depict fashionable styles of dress for men, women and children, and constitute valuable source material on the history of dress during this period in history."

A collection of 400,000 free to use images from the museum's collections. Select 'department' and scroll down to the Costume Institute to find fashion and costume related images.

From the Pratt Institute Libraries. "The Fashion Plate Collection consists of hand-colored fashion plates from the French periodical La Gazette du Bon Ton (considered the most influential fashion magazine during its existence from 1912 to 1925) and its American edition, La Gazette du Bon Genre. The plates in Pratt's collection date from 1914 to 1922, were created by such prominent French artists as George Barbier, Pierre Brissaud, and Georges Lepape, and anticipate the Art Deco movement of the mid-1920s."

"Original fashion plates... Many of these plates are from some of the leading French, British, American, and other continental fashion journals of the 19th century and early 20th century: Belle assemblée; Le bon ton; Le Follet, courrier des salons; Journal des dames and des modes; Godey's lady's book and magazine, and others. They are primarily hand-colored engravings although some of the plates after 1885 are colored lithographs. "

Contains thousands of images of tartan designs, and is fully searchable by color.

A database of arts related images compiled by the University for the Creative Arts in the UK.Try searching any of the London College of Fashion's collection for relevant images.

Around 100,000 images made available through the California State University IMAGE Project. Try using the keywords "textiles" or "fashion" to see what it has to offer.

A collaborative effort between the University for the Creative Arts and Zandra Rhodes Studio. A collection of her couture pieces and fashion illustrations.