Research Guides: History: HIS 3050

Library Resources

Oxford English Dictionary
Available in print in the Reference Section, first floor of Bunch Library
Also online - see link below

Reference Work Assignment
Find sources in the history area of the Reference Section (letters D, E, and F) and in areas related to your topics, e.g. labor, education, health care

Index Assignment
Suggested databases - JSTOR, Project MUSE, Academic Search Premier
See links below

Problem/Hypothesis Assignment
   Use the library's online catalog to search for books on your topic.
   Tips:
   *Search in OneSearch on the library's home page.
   *On the results list, click on "Library Catalog" at the top of the screen.
   *Create a list by clicking the push pin icon to the right of each title. This puts the title on your list. You can view the list by clicking on the push pin icon at the top of the screen. At the top of your list, click on the three dots to print or email the list.

Newspaper Assignment - links below
   *New York Times on microfilm
   *Historical New York Times database - search by dates; open Page View to see an entire page of news
   *Times of London Archive - works the same way as the Historical NYT
   *Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers - search newspapers from 1789-1949; click on each thumbnail image to view the paper

Biographical Resources
Literature Resource Center - see link below
Samples of Book Reviews
These journals are available in Bunch Library:
*American Historical Review - print and online
*Reviews in American History - print and online
*William and Mary Quarterly - online only, access through JSTOR

Oxford English Dictionary
A full-text database that provides the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million English words, both present and past. This online version is updated quarterly with at least 1000 new and revised entries. The OED covers words from across the English-speaking world, and is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language.
JSTOR Arts & Sciences
JSTOR offers high-quality, interdisciplinary content to support scholarship and teaching. It includes leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. Journals are always included from volume 1, issue 1 and include previous and unrelated titles.
Project MUSE
Project MUSE is a 100%full-text online collection of several hundred titles in the arts, humanities and social sciences from 60 university and society presses. MUSE journals cover many fields of study including literature, history, politics and policy studies, economics, education, film, religion and women's studies.
Academic Search Premier
A comprehensive database covering a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas, and providing full text articles from more than 4,600 journals.
Historic New York Times (1851-2019)
The New York Times (1851-2019) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
The Times Digital Archive
The Times of London has covered all major international events from the French Revolution to the War in Iraq. The Times Digital Archive, 1785-2006 makes 221 years of this highly regarded resource available for students and researchers of 19th-, 20th-, and early 21st-century history, literature, culture, business, art and architecture, and more. Every complete page of every issue is full-text searchable - every headline, article, editorial, announcement, image and advertisement.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Search America's historic newspapers from 1789-1949 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published from 1690 to the present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the national Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.

Ask a Librarian

Claire Walker Wiley

Email Me

Contact:

Suite 308, 3rd Floor, Bunch Library
615-460-5499

Subjects: Communication, First Year Seminar (FYS), First Year Writing (FYW), For Faculty, History, Journalism, Legal Resources, Political Science, Public Relations, Research Help, Scholarly Communication, Sociology, Third Year Writing (3YW)

History: HIS 3050

Library Resources

Ask a Librarian

How to use microfilm