History: Databases

JSTOR offers full text scholarly articles in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. Coverage begins with the first issue published and extends to within three to five years of the current date.

The New York Times (1851-2019) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

The Times of London archive covers major international events from 1785-2006 in the fields of history, literature, culture, business and more.

English Historical Documents is the most comprehensive, annotated collection of documents on British (not in reality just English) history ever compiled and contains over 5,500 expertly indexed and fully searchable primary documents from 500-1914.

The Bibliography of British and Irish History provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present.

Documenting one of the most inspiring social movements in American history, History Vault covers events from the last decade of the 19th century to the last decade of the 20th century.

Project MUSE is a 100%full-text online collection of several hundred titles in the arts, humanities and social sciences from 60 university and society presses. MUSE journals cover many fields of study including literature, history, politics and policy studies, economics, education, film, religion and women?s studies.

Scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers offering balanced coverage of events in world history.

This digitized collection of the papers of Edward Sylvester Morse consists of diaries, correspondence, research files, drawings, lecture notes, publications, scrapbooks and manuscripts. The collection covers Morse’s work as a natural historian and his experiences in Japan.

The David Rumsey Historical Map Collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North and South America cartographic history materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia, and Africa are also represented. The collection categories include old and antique atlas, globe, school geography, maritime chart, state, county, city, pocket, wall, children and manuscript maps. Total maps online is now over 11,000

This collection includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals never before available outside the walls of the American Antiquarian Society, the premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction.

Search America's historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.