It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Music Business: Music Data
Digital and print resources for Music Business students.
Music Connect is a web-based tool that gives you a complete view of music consumption across airplay, sales, streaming, and social data for artists, albums, and songs, all in one place. As the official source of the Billboard charts with over 25 years of historical data, this interface connects multiple metrics to give you a comprehensive view of performance and trends across the music industry. Use of this resource is limited to one (1) simultaneous user.
Complete this form in order to log in to Music Connect.
Music Industry Data is a database of popular music chart data from around the world. From the US, UK, Europe, South America and Asia, Music Industry Data delivers access to an authoritative database under exclusive academic license from Billboard, the Official Charts Company and many more.
powerful data tools, global metrics and expert industry analysis across music, video, TV, sports, media, games, telco marketing and brands. Information available includes monthly analyst reports, cloud data tools, consumer data, market forecasts and market trends. Use of this resource is limited to one (1) simultaneous user. If you are not able to access it, please try again later.
Updated weekly as songs enter the Billboard Hot 100 Top 10, this robust, fully interactive database houses proprietary data for the compositional characteristics of those songs, as well as related industry data for songwriters, artists, producers and record labels.
Searches include the ability to search for compositional and industry trends, find songs with very specific compositional characteristics, and compare compositional characteristics across songs, songwriters, artists, producers, and record labels.
Every song in the database includes a dedicated page detailing its key compositional characteristics related to genres and influences, lead vocal, lyrics and song structure, as well as other useful information such chart position, links to lyrics, the official video and more.
Provides quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. Note Requires registering a free account once you access the database. Use of this resource is limited to three (3) simultaneous users. If you are unable to access it, please try again later.
A comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Online it is 1400+ individually indexed tables with attached spreadsheets. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.