Research Guides: Entrepreneurship 3000: Schenkel

Introduction

This guide is designed to support secondary research needed for the Venture Idea Pitch Assignment. Use the resources linked in the boxes on the right to find resources related to the 3 phases of development:

Opportunity Identification
Opportunity Assessment
Opportunity Development

Additional training is available for some tools and is detailed below each resource when available.

Market Reports & Demographics

Statista
Data aggregation and research platform with statistics and information covering worldwide markets, industries, and societal topics
Euromonitor Passport
A global market research company with 800 analysts worldwide. Data & analysis provide a full view of the global business environment. Training videos are found in the platform under the Help section.
Opportunity Identification, Opportunity Assessment
Social Explorer
Provides quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. Training videos are found under the Help Center.
Note Requires registering a free account once you access the database.
Opportunity Assessment

American FactFinder
The online platform to search a variety of Census data including population, housing, economic and geographic information.
Opportunity Assessment

Claritas: My Best Segments
Provides consumer profiles based on zip code.
Opportunity Identification, Opportunity Assessment, Opportunity Development

Industry Reports

NAICS Index
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS, pronounced "nakes") is used to classify business establishments with codes of 2 to 6 digits. This system was developed to help with comparing industries across the United States, Canada and Mexico. In many of the library's resources, the NAICS code may be used to search for information about an industry.

IBISWorld
Comprehensive, astute and easy to digest, IBISWorld?s industry research reports offer the very latest content on every U.S. industry. Each report consists of 30 to 40 pages of key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, major industry participants and more. Tutorials are integrated throughout the reports; look for the video camera icon to view.
Opportunity Identification, Opportunity Assessment, Opportunity Development
BizMiner
BizMiner produces the most granular industry statistical reports in the market. They offer industry financial analysis benchmarks for over 5,000 lines of business and industry market trends on thousands more. Their market analysis reports are available at the national and local levels down to the zip code. Training videos are found under the Resources menu in the Tutorial section.
Opportunity Identification, Opportunity Assessment, Opportunity Development

Articles

Business Source Complete
A scholarly business database providing a collection of bibliographic and full text content in all disciplines of business. Indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included. Additional full text, non-journal content includes SWOT analyses, financial data, books, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, and industry, country, company, and market research reports.