Research Guides: Liberal Studies: Databases

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier
contains indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
JSTOR Arts & Sciences
JSTOR offers high-quality, interdisciplinary content to support scholarship and teaching. It includes leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. Journals are always included from volume 1, issue 1 and include previous and unrelated titles.
ScienceDirect
Science Direct is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 3,900 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books. There are currently more than 9.5 million articles/chapters on subjects in the Health & Life Sciences, Physical Sciences, and Social & Behavioral Sciences.

Off-Campus Access

Databases and electronic books are accessible from off-campus. You will log in using your MyBelmont username and password. If you have questions, please call the Bunch Library Research Help Desk at 615-460-6521 or send an email to mybelmont@belmont.edu.

Databases

Bunch Library subscribes to over 300 databases. Some are multidisciplinary; others are subject specific. Within these databases, you will find citations to articles in scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines, and other publications such as government reports and conference proceedings. There are also citations to books, book chapters and essays within anthologies. Some databases include images, streaming video and/or streaming music.

Database highlights:

Many articles are in full text.
Searches can be limited by date, language, type of publication, and much more.
A thesaurus (sometimes called "subject terms" or "headings") can help you identify discipline-specific vocabulary.
You have the option to print, email, and save articles and searches.

Find the databases from the library's home page (under Get Resources) or use the links found elsewhere on this page.

Accessing Full Text

Many database entries will have the full text attached, usually as a PDF document. PDF format requires Adobe Acrobat Reader, available as a free download at www.adobe.com. In addition, Bunch Library has all of its databases linked together, so that if one does not offer the full text, another might.

To obtain the full text of articles, follow these tips:

Look for links to "Full Text" or "PDF."
If the full text is not attached, click on the blue button labeled "Find Full Text @ BU." A new window will open.
Click on one of the database links to be taken to the location of the full text article.
"No full text available" will appear when Bunch Library is not able to provide full text. In that case,
Search the catalog to see if the print journal is available in Bunch Library, or
Request a copy of the article through Interlibrary Loan.

Full text articles may be printed for your own use.