Education: K-12 Resources

Aimed at students in grades K-5; provides reliable resources on a broad range of elementary school topics with an intuitive interface that offers an introduction to research

Graphic interface designed for preK+ students who are learning how to read includes access to games, stories, videos, and activities. "For Grownups" section provides additional content and guidance on how to use the resource

Free ebooks in a wide range of fiction and non-fiction topics, for all ages. Collection can be browsed using the graphic interface, or searched with the search box.

Aimed at students in K+, the graphics heavy interface allows pre-readers to learn about a wide range of topics. A search box is available for readers as well. Includes videos, activities, science projects, and games

Aimed at students in grades K-2, teachers can use PebbleGo Science, Social Studies, Ciencia, and Estudio Sociales to help your young students build confidence in their technology, language, research, and reading skills. The word highlighting and natural voice audio allows readers and pre-readers to easily follow along with the text as they build vocabulary, pronunciation, and fluency skills every step of the way.

Full text coverage from 1887 - current (with a 1 day delay)

Full text of the Memphis Commercial Appeal from 1847 - present (with a 1 day delay)

Aimed at students in grades 5-8, provides access to reference works, biographies, magazine and journal articles, primary source documents, and multimedia. Provides a user-friendly interface to help students improve their research skills.

Newspapers.com Southeast Edition provides online access to historical newspapers (dating from the early 1700s into the 2000s) from the southeast United States including over 2000 historic and recent newspapers in Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Florida, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Tennessee, Virginia and West Virginia.

Full Text of the Tennessean from 1812 - current (with a 1 day delay). Digitized pages provide unique historical insight into the regional issues and concerns, such as local government, industrialization, prohibition, and racial struggles. Provides Nashville and Middle Tennessee regional coverage.

Transparent Languages is an online language learning program and includes audio, video, and interactive activities. More than 110 languages are available, and English Language Learner resources are also available for 30 languages.
A free account is required in order to access this resource.

Provides research resources for students grades 5+ who are reading below grade level with content and tools specifically developed for these students, including reference articles, text-to-speech capabilities, learning and life skills activities, research tools, multimedia, and interactive video.

Free ebooks in a wide range of fiction and non-fiction topics, for all ages. Collection can be browsed using the graphic interface, or searched with the search box.

Aimed at students in grades 5+, a traditional encyclopedia that also includes videos, activities, biographies, citation builder, and more

Aimed at students in grades 5+, students can discover and map important events in society and culture. Users can browse more than 400 ready-made, interactive timelines covering various periods in history or create their own timeline on any subject.

includes case studies and offers over 400 topic pages about today’s environmental issues

Aimed at students in grades 5-12, provides access to age-appropriate, authoritative digital content for classroom assignments. Learners can research magazines, journals, newspapers, and reference books covering a wide range of subjects, from science, history, and literature to political science, sports, and environmental studies.

Aimed at students in grades 9-12, covers a broad range of topics, people, places, and events in a user-friendly interface to help students improve their research skills

Full text coverage from 1887 - current (with a 1 day delay)

LitFinder provides access to literary works and authors throughout history and includes more than 150,000 full-text poems and 800,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays

Full text of the Memphis Commercial Appeal from 1847 - present (with a 1 day delay)

Newspapers.com Southeast Edition provides online access to historical newspapers (dating from the early 1700s into the 2000s) from the southeast United States including over 2000 historic and recent newspapers in Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Florida, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Tennessee, Virginia and West Virginia.

Covers today's social issues, from capital punishment to marijuana. Includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, and infographics that help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions.

Take online practice tests and use test prep ebooks. Search thousands of college and graduate school entries. Identify scholarships that meet financial needs. A free account is required in order to access this resource.

Create a free account to start searching for careers and jobs and create resumes and cover letters with professional templates. A free account is required in order to access this resource.

Full Text of the Tennessean from 1812 - current (with a 1 day delay). Digitized pages provide unique historical insight into the regional issues and concerns, such as local government, industrialization, prohibition, and racial struggles. Provides Nashville and Middle Tennessee regional coverage.

Transparent Languages is an online language learning program and includes audio, video, and interactive activities. More than 110 languages are available, and English Language Learner resources are also available for 30 languages.
A free account is required in order to access this resource.

Online encyclopedia that features thousands of reference articles, primary sources, and online books. Also includes access to worldwide news publications, government links from numerous countries, and multimedia materials.

Free ebooks in a wide range of fiction and non-fiction topics, for all ages. Collection can be browsed using the graphic interface, or searched with the search box.

Aimed at students in grades 5+, students can discover and map important events in society and culture. Users can browse more than 400 ready-made, interactive timelines covering various periods in history or create their own timeline on any subject.