Research Guides: COM 2340: Business and Professional Communication: Home

Finding articles on an industry or company

Business Source Complete
A scholarly business database providing a collection of bibliographic and full text content in all disciplines of business. Indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included. Additional full text, non-journal content includes SWOT analyses, financial data, books, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, and industry, country, company, and market research reports.
Business: Insights
Provides in depth coverage of businesses, including company profiles, industry profiles, products and brands, financial reports, company rankings, histories, and full-text periodical articles.

GuideStar
Database of information on nonprofits including 990 forms for the past three years.

APA citation example:

Big Brothers Big Sisters of America (2018). IRS Form 990. Retrieved from http://www.guidestar.org/

Cost of Living Index
The Cost of Living Index from the Council for Community and Economic Research (C2ER) provides city-to-city comparisons and datasets of key consumer costs. C2ER COLI data are recognized by the U.S. Census Bureau, US Bureau of Labor Statistics, CNN Money, and the President's Council of Economic Advisors.

IBISWorld report citations in APA format should resemble this:

Crompton, J. (2014, December). IBISWorld industry report 51223: Music publishing in the US. Retrieved from IBISWorld Industry Market Research database.

BizMiner report citations in APA format should resemble this:

BizMiner. (2014, December). Industry financial report (5 year); [5122] Sector: Sound Recording Industries; sales class: $1 - $499,999. Retrieved from the BizMiner database.

Watch the video above to learn about the North American Classification Industry. Following the video, search for the NAICS code for your industry using this link.

IBISWorld
Comprehensive, astute and easy to digest, IBISWorld?s industry research reports offer the very latest content on every U.S. industry. Each report consists of 30 to 40 pages of key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, major industry participants and more.
BizMiner
BizMiner produces the most granular industry statistical reports in the market. They offer industry financial analysis benchmarks for over 5,000 lines of business and industry market trends on thousands more. Their market analysis reports are available at the national and local levels down to the zip code.
Statista
Data aggregation and research platform with statistics and information covering worldwide markets, industries, and societal topics

Business Source Complete
This database includes MarketLine company profiles, which detail the company history, key players, competitors, and provides a SWOT analysis. Click on the Company Profiles link in the box on the right side of the screen, and search for your company to see if a MarketLine report is available.
Business: Insights
Use the menu across the top to discover company information including history, SWOT analysis, and financials.
WestlawNext Campus Research
Access to Hoover's Company profiles. Click on "news" on the first screen, then select "Hoover's Company Profiles" in the box on the right side of the screen.
Nexis Uni
Access over 6,000 news, business, and legal sources. The outstanding news coverage includes deep back files and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources.

Email Me

Subjects: Business, Entertainment & Music Business, First Year Seminar (FYS), First Year Writing (FYW), For Faculty, Media Studies, Motion Pictures, Publishing, Research Help, Sport Administration

Please use the following handout for more information on what differentiates each of these business resources.