Skip to main content

Online Library Services: Home

Bunch Library supports remote research, teaching, and learning with a variety of electronic resources and services

We're here to help

Online Services

The online library is open and staffed. Bunch Library supports remote research, teaching, and learning with the following online resources and services. If your question is not answered on this page, please don't hesitate to contact us at research@belmont.edu. 

Library Building

The library is now closed for all in-person services.  

Please refer back to this page for future updates.  

Research Help

Virtual Research Appointments

Virtual Research Appointments are available with Research Librarians. We will use Blackboard Collaborate to meet with you online. Once you book an appointment we will email you additional information on how to access the meeting. 

Chat Service 

You may also ask questions via our chat service which will be monitored during our open hours.  

Research Guides

Research Guides are available for all subjects at Belmont. We also have a general Research Help guide that will get you started using the library's resources, and even some guides on specific topics like Citing Sources

Need Online Study Tools?

Go Conqr: Go Conqr study groups allow you to share ideas and study resources as well as work on projects with classmates or colleagues around the world. 

Slack: All your team communication in one place. A new way to get more done, spend less time in meetings, and reduce email. That’s Slack.

For more online tools, check out this guide from Georgetown University.

Circulation

Checking Out Physical Items

Circulation Services will mail Bunch Library books and scores to currently enrolled Belmont students, faculty & staff.  Just send an email to circulation@belmont.edu.  Be sure to include your mailing address along with a list of specific titles that you need.  We will send out an email to let you know when your books are on their way.

Due Dates: Students and faculty should keep items currently checked out until the library reopens or until further notice. All due dates have been automatically extended until August 3, 2020, and we are waving all late fees for media. Library staff will continue to work while buildings are closed, so please contact us if you have any questions 

Interlibrary Loan

If you currently have ILL materials checked out, hang on to them for the time being.  We will contact you when we have a system in place for returning these materials.  You will not be charged any overdue fees.

We will continue to process article requests, book chapter requests, dissertation & theses requests as usual.  

Unfortunately, we are unable to borrow physical books from our partner libraries at this time.  We will do our best to locate an ebook version of the title requested and communicate to you if / when it's available to view  in our library catalog.  

Please contact paige.carter@belmont.edu with any ILL questions.  

Library Collections Online

Ebooks are available through OneSearch on the library's home page. After entering search terms, use the filters on the left to limit results by Availability to 'Full Text Online' and by Resource Type to 'Books.' 

Scholarly articles are available through OneSearch. Use the filters on the left to limit results to 'Peer-reviewed journals.' You can also search for articles through our Databases

Journals can be searched by title through OneSearch, or you can browse journals by subject using Browzine

Databases: We provide access to more than 300 databases. You can browse our A to Z list or by subject. 

Research Guides: Discipline-specific online library resources are also available through our Research Guides

Additional Sources for Ebooks

VitalSource is working with leading publishers to make ebooks available to students and faculty due to the rapid transition to distance learning. Create a username and password and sign into VitalSource at https://bookshelf.vitalsource.com/. Search their catalog by title or ISBN to find books not available in e-format through Bunch Library. 

The Internet Archive National Emergency Library is now available and includes a collection of over 1 million ebooks from many libraries. 

Ask Lila!

Lila Bunch's picture
Lila Bunch
Contact:
1900 Belmont Blvd
Nashville, TN 37212
615-460-6782