Skip to Main Content

Linking to Library Resources

How to link to the library's resources

Introduction

The library's databases offer a variety of streaming media options for you to share with your students.  If you'd like to add a link to a specific audio file to your syllabus or Canvas, please feel free to do so.  The instructions on this page will help you, and if you need further assistance, please don't hesitate to contact Courtney Fuson.

These instructions are for linking to a single streaming audio file.  If you'd like to know more about how to create playlists and link to those, please contact the Music Librarian, Lina Sheahan, for assistance.

Please note that many of our streaming sources will no longer work in Internet Explorer.  Please use either Firefox or Chrome to access these resources.

Alexander Street Press

Most of our streaming audio content comes from Alexander Street Press.  This includes content found in American Song, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music, Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, Jazz Music Library, Music Online: Premium, Popular Music Library, Psychological Experiments Online, and Smithsonian Global Sound.

Alexander Street Press provides three options for linking to content.  All of them are found using the </> Embed/Link tool under the track title. 

Alexander Street Press screenshot

(Click to enlarge image)

Click on that tool, and a pop up window allows you to copy and past the permanent link or embed the player for the specific track that you are looking at.  You can also get a link that is specifically designed to work in Canvas.

(Click to enlarge image.)

DRAM

DRAM (Database of Recorded American Music) provides a Permalink option for albums in their collection.  Right-click on the Permalink link and choose "Copy Link Address" or "Copy link location" to get the permalink.  â€‹Before you share this link with your students, you'll need to add something to make it work from off-campus.  

Paste the link where you'd like to use it and add https://bunchproxy.idm.oclc.org/login?url= to the beginning.  For the example in the photo, the updated url would read: https://bunchproxy.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://www.dramonline.org/albums/earl-hines-plays-duke-ellington.  This ensures that students will be required to log-in if they are off-campus. On-campus students will not be affected.

(Click to enlarge image.)

Naxos

Naxos our other main provider of streaming audio content.  This includes content found in Naxos Classical Music Library and Naxos Jazz Music Library.  Naxos provides Static URLs for each CD and track in its collection.  First, click on the "Show Static URL" button above the track list for a CD.

(click the image to enlarge)

Then, select the Static URL of the track that you'd like to use.  Or, you can use the static URL for the entire CD.

Before you share this link with your students, you'll need to add something to make it work from off-campus.  

Paste the link where you'd like to use it and add https://bunchproxy.idm.oclc.org/login?url= to the beginning.  For the example in the photo, the updated url would read: https://bunchproxy.idm.oclc.org/login?url=belmont.naxosmusiclibrary.com/catalogue/item.asp?cid=190296648113.  This ensures that students will be required to log-in if they are off-campus. On-campus students will not be affected.