Skip to Main Content

Linking to Library Resources

How to link to the library's resources

Ask A Librarian

Profile Photo
Courtney Fuson
she/her
Contact:
Bunch Library, 2nd Floor
615-460-5492

Introduction

The library's databases offer a wealth of information for you to share with your students.  If you'd like to add a link to a specific article in your syllabus or in a Canvas course, please feel free to do so.  The instructions on this page will help you, and if you need further assistance, please don't hesitate to contact Courtney Fuson.

Linking from the Library's Catalog

If you've located something (a book, journal, or even an article) using the library's search box that you'd like to share with your students, you can do that quickly and easily.  This may be the easiest way to share a link to an item with your students.

Once you've located the item you'd like to share, click on the title in the list of your search results.

This will bring up more information about the item as well as some options for what you can do with it.  You should see an option to show the Permalink.

Click on Permalink and then click on "Copy to Clipboard" to copy the link to your computer's clipboard.  You can now paste it into Canvas, an email, or anywhere else you'd like to share it with your students.

Linking from EBSCOHost

Many of the library's major databases are provided by EBSCOHost.  This includes databases such as Academic Search Premier, Business Source Complete, ATLA Religion Database, CINAHL Complete, Education Source, MEDLINE Complete, PscyINFO & PsycARTICLES, SocINDEX, and many others.  

In order to provide a link to a particular article in one of these databases, search for articles as you normally would.  When you find an article you'd like to share, click on the Permalink Tool on the right.  A box will appear with a link in it.  Copy this link and paste it wherever you'd like your students to have access to it.  This link should work from both on and off campus.

 

Screenshot of the EBSCOHost Article View screen

(Click on the photo to enlarge it)

Linking from JSTOR

To link to a particular article in JSTOR, you'll need to use the Stable URL that is given on the page for the article.  Search for articles as you normally would, and when you find one you'd like to share, copy the Stable URL.  Before you share this link with your students, you'll need to add something to make it work from off-campus.  

Paste the link where you'd like to use it and add https://bunchproxy.idm.oclc.org/login?url= to the beginning.  For the example in the photo, the updated url would read: https://bunchproxy.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/40388644.  This ensures that students will be required to log-in if they are off-campus. On-campus students will not be affected.

 

JSTOR article screen

(Click on the photo to enlarge it)

Linking from Nexis Uni

To link to a particular article in LexisNexis, search for the article as you normally would.  When you find one you'd like to share, click on the Actions link to the right of the document title.  (It may be hidden by the Google Translate options).  Then click "Link to this page"

This will bring up a box with the direct URL to the article in it for you to copy.  Before you share this link with your students, you'll need to add something to make it work from off-campus.

Paste the link where you'd like to use it and add https://bunchproxy.idm.oclc.org/login?url= to the beginning. For the example in the photo, the updated url would read:https://bunchproxy.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://advance.lexis.com/api/permalink/977f692d-6749-4eb3-b634-945fd9e31968/?context=1516831. This ensures that students will be required to log-in if they are off-campus. On-campus students will not be affected.

 

(Click on the photo to enlarge it)

Linking from Ovid databases

To link to articles in an Ovid database, you'll need to use the Email jumpstart tool at the top of the screen.  When you click Email jumpstart, a small box will appear with a URL in it.  This is the direct URL to your article.  Before you share this link with your students, you'll need to add something to make it work from off-campus.

Paste the link where you'd like to use it and add https://bunchproxy.idm.oclc.org/login?url=  to the beginning. For the example in the photo, the updated url would read: https://bunchproxy.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&CSC=Y&NEWS=N&PAGE=fulltext&D=ovft&AN=00002060-900000000-97711&PDF=y. This ensures that students will be required to log-in if they are off-campus. On-campus students will not be affected.

 

OVID article screen

(Click on the photo to enlarge it)

Linking from Project Muse

To provide a link to an article from Project Muse, simply search for articles as you normally would.  When you find an article you'd like to share, use the URL in the address bar to share it with your students.  

Before you share this link with your students, you'll need to add something to make it work from off-campus. Paste the link where you'd like to use it and add https://bunchproxy.idm.oclc.org/login?url= to the beginning. For the example in the photo, the url would read: https://bunchproxy.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://muse.jhu.edu/article/230080. This ensures that students will be required to log-in if they are off-campus. On-campus students will not be affected.

 

Project Muse article screen

(Click on the photo to enlarge it)

Linking from ProQuest databases

To provide a link to an article from a ProQuest database, simply search for articles as you normally would.  When you find an article you'd like to share, click on the Cite tool in the circles next to the article.  

You'll need to change the citation type to APA or Chicago to see the link.  Once you have a citation that has the link, you can copy the direct link to the article.  Copy this link and paste it wherever you'd like your students to have access to it.  This link should work from both on and off campus.

(Click on the photo to enlarge it)

Linking from ScienceDirect

To provide a link to an article from Science Direct, simply search for articles as you normally would.  When you find an article you'd like to share, use the URL in the address bar to share it with your students.  Before you share this link with your students, you'll need to add something to make it work from off-campus.

Paste the link where you'd like to use it and add https://bunchproxy.idm.oclc.org/login?url=  to the beginning. For the example in the photo, the url would read: https://bunchproxy.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0360131503000289. This ensures that students will be required to log-in if they are off-campus. On-campus students will not be affected.

 

SciencDirect article screen

(Click on the photo to enlarge it)

Linking from TEL Databases

The Tennessee Electronic Library is a free resource available to the residents of the state of Tennessee.  It encompasses a wide variety of databases and topics.  If you'd like to link to an article from these databases, simply search for the article as you normally would.  

When you find an article you'd like to share, click on Get Link near printer button.  This will bring up a small screen with the URL.  Before you share this link with your students, you'll need to add something to make it work from off-campus.

Paste the link where you'd like to use it and add https://bunchproxy.idm.oclc.org/login?url=  to the beginning. For the example in the photo, the url would read https://bunchproxy.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/A654984078/GPS?u=tel_a_belmont&sid=bookmark-GPS&xid=0663500aThis ensures that students will be required to log-in if they are off-campus. On-campus students will not be affected.

(Click on the photo to enlarge it)