Encyclopedia of International Sports Studies by
The 3 volume Encyclopedia of International Sports Studies provides comprehensive coverage of all aspects of the science, social science and medicine of sport. The Encyclopedia is alphabetically organised and consists of: principal entries of 3000 words covering disciplinary areas, e.g. sports economics, sports history large informational entries of 1200 words on broad topics, e.g. resistance training, diagnosis of sports injuries medium informational entries of 600 words on more specific topics, e.g. cross training, projectile motion small entries of 300 words comprising entries on narrower topics and small overviews directing the reader onwards, e.g. metabolism, overview, motivation, overview, muscle tension length relationship. The aim of the editors has been to produce a comprehensive work which will be of use to a wide variety of users: students, teachers, researchers, and professionals (coaches, development officers, physiotherapists, etc.). Entries are accessibly written and both facts-fronted and critical. Entries carry cross-references and lists of further reading. There is a full index.
Handbook of Sports Economics Research by
The wealth of data available on sports makes the industry a singular laboratory for observing economic and business behavior and theory. This unique reference on sports economics research provides a detailed perspective on the current state of the discipline. Covering both team and individual sports that include tennis, golf, and motor racing, the handbook explores what we know, what we do not know, what is stable, what is changing, what is certain, and what is controversial in sports economics. The expert contributors address issues in particular sports or comparisons among sports along major topics such as revenue and costs, labor markets, market structure, market outcomes, and public policy.
The Comprehensive Guide to Careers in Sports by
The Comprehensive Guide to Careers in Sports, Second Edition provides an overview of what students should consider and expect from the varied career options available to them in sports. This book answers the questions students are most likely to have, including what courses they should take, what areas are available to them, what salary they can expect to earn after graduation, and how they can get the job of their dreams. In the highly competitive field of sports management, it is important for individuals to prepare themselves well and to make the right decisions along the way. Although there are no guarantees of success, this book will increase students' likelihood of finding success in the sports industry. Encouraging research and realistic expectations, this book has been developed by an author with many years of experience as a respected practitioner, teacher and internship coordinator.
The library's online catalog includes all materials within the Bunch Library building, as well as links to electronic books and to journals available in our databases. Here are some tips for using the catalog:
Find the catalog on the library's home page under "Get Resources" or use the search box above.
The following headings may be useful when you are searching the library's catalog:
Sports administration
Sports management
Sports administration--United States
Sports--economic aspects
Sports facilities--management
Sports--law and legislation
Sports--marketing
Other tips:
Experiment with sport vs. sports, i.e. sport business or sports business.
Instead of a subject search, try a keyword search, pairing words such as "sport and management," or "sports and administration."
Research Methods for Sports Studies by
This comprehensive and accessible textbook offers a complete grounding in both qualitative and quantitative research methods for the sports studies student. The book offers the reader a step-by-step guide to the research process, from designing a research project, to collecting and analysing data, to reporting the research, all of which is richly illustrated with sport-related case-studies and examples. The book covers key topics such as: - conceptual Models - qualitative research methods - choosing an appropriate research design - undertaking a literature review - the key research methods such as questionnaires, interviews, content analysis and ethnographic studies. - analysing data, including an introduction to SPSS, as well as guides to descriptive and inferential statistics - writing a research report - the internet as a research tool A much needed book with no competitor titles, this should be essential reading for all undergraduates in sports studies.
Ethics, Knowledge and Truth in Sports Research by
The study of sport is characterised by its inter-disciplinarity, with researchers drawing on apparently incompatible research traditions and ethical benchmarks in the natural sciences and the social sciences, depending on their area of specialisation. In this groundbreaking study, Graham McFee argues that sound high-level research into sport requires a sound rationale for one's methodological choices, and that such a rationale requires an understanding of the connection between the practicalities of researching sport and the philosophical assumptions which underpin them. By examining touchstone principles in research methodology, such as the contested 'gold standard' of voluntary informed consent in the natural sciences and the postmodern denial of 'truth' in the social sciences, McFee demonstrates that epistemology and ethics are inextricably linked. Drawing on a wide range of examples, from the laboratory to the sports field, McFee explores the concepts of 'knowledge' and 'truth' in sports research and makes a powerful case for a philosophical deepening of our approach to method and methodology in sport. This book is important reading for all advanced students and researchers working in sport, exercise and related disciplines.