For this class, you will need to use Chicago notes-bibliography style. The notes-bibliography style presents citation information in footnotes within the text and in a bibliography at the end of the text. This page presents citations for some of the most commonly-used sources. If you need help, check out the other sources on the page or contact your librarian!
Sometimes it's helpful to see an example of all of the parts of a citation style in action. These Sample Papers, courtesy of the Purdue OWL, shows what a perfectly-formatted paper should look like.
Notes-bibliography documentation is discussed in Chapter 14. The first note includes all citation information, any subsequent reference is shortened. Footnotes are single-space and the first line is indented. List page numbers consulted in note. The bibliography is single-spaced and indented after the first line.
Here's some examples of different citations for the notes-bibliography documentation style.
|
Books Note: Rick Beard, The Muse: A History of Music (New York: Random House, 2009), 9–18. Beard, The Muse, 22.
Bibliography: Beard, Rick. The Muse: A History of Music. New York: Random House, 2009. |
Need more help? More information, including even more examples, can be found on the Purdue OWL's Chicago Guide: Books. The exact rules in the CMOS can be found here.
|
Journal Article Note: John Stein, “Music in Plato’s Republic,” Music Journal 44 (2009): 442. Stein, “Plato’s Republic,” 450–52. Bibliography: Stein, John. “Music in Plato’s Republic.” Music Journal 44 (2009): 439–58. |
Need more help? More information, including even more examples, can be found on the Purdue OWL's Chicago Guide: Periodicals. The exact rules in the CMOS can be found here.
|
Online Newspaper Note: Sherry Orange and Ron Pear, “Wary Centrists Challenge Health Care Reform,” Chicago Tribune, January 7, 2010, accessed January 8, 2010, http://www.tribune.com/2010/01/07/us/politics/health.html. Orange and Pear, “Wary Centrists.” Bibliography Orange, Sherry, and Ron Pear. "Wary Centrists Challenge Health Care Reform." Chicago Tribune, January 7, 2010. Accessed January 8, 2010. http://www.tribune.com/2010/01/07/us/politics/health.html. |
Need more help? More information, including even more examples, can be found on the Purdue OWL's Chicago Guide: Periodicals.The exact rules in the CMOS can be found here.
|
Websites Citations of website content can often be limited to the notes; in works with no notes, they may be included in the bibliography. Note "Americans and Privacy: Concerned, Confused and Feeling Lack of Control Over Their Personal Information," Internet & Technology, Pew Research Center, updated November 5, 2019, https://www.pewresearch.org/internet/2019/11/15/americans-and-privacy-concerned-confused-and-feeling-lack-of-control-over-their-personal-information/. Bibliography Pew Research Center. "Americans and Privacy: Concerned, Confused and Feeling Lack of Control Over Their Personal Information." Internet & Research. Updated November 5, 2019. https://www.pewresearch.org/internet/2019/11/15/americans-and-privacy-concerned-confused-and-feeling-lack-of-control-over-their-personal-information/. |
Need more help? More information, including even more examples, can be found on the Purdue OWL's Chicago Guide: Books.The exact rules in the CMOS can be found here.