Biology: Databases

Regularly-updated, online resource that allows users to explore leading pharmacy references, search curriculum topics, research drugs and supplements, and keep up with the latest pharmacy news.

20 modules with clear 3D images and interactive models, narrated animations and illustrations, dissection slides you can label, clinical case studies, the impact of aging on each body systems, pronunciation guide, quizzes and much more.

contains indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

bioRxiv (pronounced "bio-archive") is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. It is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a not-for-profit research and educational institution. By posting preprints on bioRxiv, authors are able to make their findings immediately available to the scientific community and receive feedback on draft manuscripts before they are submitted to journals.

search or browse for articles from 1906 to one year ago in this refereed journal.

The double helix, the genetic code, jumping genes, the PCR technique, the human genome project, RNA interference ... These and hundreds of other important advances in biology were announced, debated, and distilled at the Cold Spring Harbor Symposia. These meetings, held each year on tranquil grounds of one of the world's leading research institutes, have been notable events in biomedical research since 1933. Now this essential archive, dating from 1933 to 2003, is available online.

Focuses on environmental issues and policies with diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policymakers, and corporate interests.

Connects researchers with the information needed to stay current on the latest scientific developments in wide variety of fields, including biological sciences, computing, engineering, mathematics, and technology.

JoVE, the Journal of Visualized Experiments, is the world's first peer reviewed scientific video journal. Established in 2006, JoVE is devoted to publishing scientific research in a visual format to help researchers overcome two of the biggest challenges facing the scientific research community today; poor reproducibility and the time and labor intensive nature of learning new experimental techniques

The Merck Index Online offers the same highly authoritative and reliable information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals as the print edition in a convenient and easily searchable full text database. It contains over 11,500 monographs including historic records not available in the print edition.

This site provides the full-text to over a hundred well-known Oxford dictionaries and reference books, plus an encyclopedia. Encompasses English dictionaries and thesauruses, modern European languages (French, German, Italian, Spanish), quotations, and handbooks. Subjects covered include art and architecture, classics, history, literature, mythology and folklore, performing arts, politics and social sciences, religion and philosophy, economics and business, law, and many more.

PNAS is one of the world's most-cited multidisciplinary scientific serials. Since its establishment in 1914, it continues to publish cutting-edge research reports, commentaries, reviews, perspectives, colloquium papers, and actions of the Academy. Coverage in PNAS spans the biological, physical, and social sciences

Science Direct is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 3,900 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books. There are currently more than 9.5 million articles/chapters on subjects in the Health & Life Sciences, Physical Sciences, and Social & Behavioral Sciences.

Scientific American Archive Online offers every issue of Scientific American, the premier science magazine, from 1993 to present.

SciFinder Scholar provides access to research from biomedical sciences, chemistry and patents from many patent authorities. SciFinder Scholar is searchable by chemical structure, biological sequence, substructure and reaction. Registration is required. Go to http://bit.ly/SciFindernp to register.