Faculty should be familiar with university policies.
This guide does not provide legal advice nor is it intended to replace the advice of legal counsel.
The U.S. Copyright Office gives some additional guidance about photocopying materials in "Reproduction of Copyrighted Works by Educators and Librarians" Circular 21. The guidelines allow for multiple copies for one-time distribution to students in a traditional classroom as long as the following conditions are met:
The TEACH Act of 2002 addresses the use of works in online teaching. It allows instructors to digitally share materials that would reasonably be shared in a physical class setting. To use copyrighted works in Blackboard or other online systems, the following criteria must be met:
The TEACH Act is not as broad as fair use. It only covers use of materials during class time. Fair use covers the use of materials outside of class time.
To use non-library resources for teaching you will most likely need to make a fair use evaluation of each resource or item used.
Fair use is based on a four-factor analysis
1. Purpose or character of the use (educational or professional)
2. Nature of the work (published vs. unpublished; factual vs. creative)
3. Amount and substantiality of portion used
4. Impact on the market for the work (including the market for permissions)
Use the fair use checklist from Columbia University to help you make an assessment.
Want to play it safe? The easiest and most copyright-friendly way to use materials for teaching is to use resources that have been licensed by the Belmont Libraries. See below for information on how to find and link to library resources.
1. Use OneSearch (the search box on the library home page) to search for book titles. You may see multiple editions, so be sure to check the date to make sure you select the latest.
2. Click on the title of the book to view the complete record, where you will find the permalink. This is the easiest way to link to the entire book.
3. Alternatively, you could click the Full Text link to view the book in whichever database it's in so that you can provide a direct link to the full text or to a specific chapter or section of the book. This will require you to find the permalink, or in some cases, to create the permalink, depending on the database.
*More info coming on linking directly to ebooks in databases like AccessMedicine and ClinicalKey....
For now, see the Linking to Ebooks guide for information on linking to resources from other platforms.
More information coming soon on linking to articles in Medicine databases.
For now, see the Linking to Articles guide with information on several other Belmont databases.