Medicine: Faculty Resources

Clinical Pharmacology provides content and tools for the following areas: monographs, drug class overviews, search capabilities, reports, product identification, product information, patient education and IV compatibility (by Trissel's).

Facts & Comparisons eAnswers provides the most up-to-date drug information including access to Drug Facts and Comparisons, Drug Interaction Facts, Nonprescription Drug Therapy, Off-Label Drug Facts, clinical calculators, black box warnings, medication guides, and information on orphan drugs.

Lexi-Comp provides information on drug and drug interactions, drug allergies, drug therapy duplication, drug dose checking, diagnosis and disease management, formulary services, patient education, and clinical support. The monographs include point-of-care pharmacology, dosing, warnings, adverse reactions, IV compatibility, drug identification, poisoning and toxicology, and lab & diagnostic information.

Micromedex is unbiased, referenced information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine. This includes information on critical emergency, acute care and disease data as well as scientifically sound alternative medicine information.

Medical textbooks in basic and clinical sciences including Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine. Also includes multimedia, Diagnosaurus differential diagnosis tool, practice guidelines, diagnostic tests, evidence-based outlines of conditions and disorders, self-assessment, patient education, integrated drug database, photos and illustrations, and cases.

Collection of basic science, clinical rotation, and post-graduate cases in an interactive format to help students learn and retain knowledge through exposure to realistic patient cases. Personalized functionality lets users mark their progress through cases.

100 peer reviewed cases, representing all key topics covered in both medical curricula and the USMLE. Cases are locked and can only be assigned by the instructors.

: A multipurpose learning platform with ebooks, journals, procedure videos, multimedia, clinical overviews, drug monographs, calculators, guidelines, patient education and more.

Additional medical ebooks from Elsevier, plus question banks and self-assessment tools. Registration is required. Please use your Belmont email address to register.

This e-book collection from McGraw Hill contains over 40 books to support review for clerkships and test preparation for basic science exams, clerkship exams, and board exams. The e-books in this collection contain helpful mnemonics, integrated cases, summary boxes with high-yield information, and tips on how to be successful in the clerkship setting

USMLE study aid ebooks from McGraw Hill including First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 (2022) and First Aid Cases for the USMLE Step 1 (2018)

Online resource for teaching, learning, and application of evidence based medicine. Learn to identify, appraise and use the best available evidence to assess health problems and the outcomes of health. Includes User’s Guides to the Medical Literature, calculators and critical appraisal worksheets

Searchable citations for over 5,600 biomedical journals with full text available for more than 1,650 titles. See a full list of the titles available here.

search more than 34 million citations for biomedical literature from the MEDLINE database, life science journals, and online books. PubMed@Belmont includes links to full text of Belmont journal holdings

Up-to-Date provides clinicians and patients topic reviews that include a synthesis of the literature, the latest evidence, and specific recommendations for patient care.
FOR USE BY 3RD AND 4TH YEAR UNDERGRAD NURSING, GRAD NURSING AND PHARMACY STUDENTS ONLY.

20 modules with clear 3D images and interactive models, narrated animations and illustrations, dissection slides you can label, clinical case studies, the impact of aging on each body systems, pronunciation guide, quizzes and much more.

the definitive resource for nursing and allied health research, providing full text for more than 900 journals. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU modules and research instruments

a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Cochrane reviews represent the highest level of evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions. In addition to Cochrane reviews, The Cochrane Library provides other sources of reliable information, from other systematic review abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations and individual clinical trials - all the current evidence in one single environment.

DSM 5 is the handbook used by health care professionals in the United States and much of the world as the authoritative guide to the diagnosis of mental disorders. It contains descriptions, symptoms, and other criteria for diagnosing mental disorders. It also provides a common language for researchers to study the criteria for potential future revisions and to aid in the development of medications and other interventions.

Embase includes six million+ records and 2,900+ journals that are not covered by MEDLINE including international journals. Over 30 million abstracts and indices from published, peer-reviewed biomedical literature, in-press publications and conferences are available on Embase. Full-text indexing of drug, disease and medical device data, supported by the Embase thesaurus Emtree, facilitates precise searching.

IPA is a collection of abstracts from the world pharmacy literature, including related health, medical cosmetic and stat pharmacy journals. It also includes abstracts of major pharmacy meeting presentations and references to alternative and herbal medicine.
Use of this resource is limited to two (2) simultaneous users. If you are unable to access it, please try again later.

Search MEDLINE using MeSH

Searchable citations for over 5,600 biomedical journals with full text available for more than 1,650 titles. See a full list of the titles available here.

The American Psychological Association's comprehensive international index to citations and abstracts (not full text) of journals and other literature in psychology and relevant materials from related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, education, social work, law, criminology, social science, and organizational behavior. Includes access to PsycARTICLES.

A collection of nursing and health science ebooks, including access to Doody's Core Titles

SciFinder Scholar provides access to research from biomedical sciences, chemistry and patents from many patent authorities. SciFinder Scholar is searchable by chemical structure, biological sequence, substructure and reaction. Registration is required. Go to http://bit.ly/SciFindernp to register.

Science Direct is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 3,900 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books. There are currently more than 9.5 million articles/chapters on subjects in the Health & Life Sciences, Physical Sciences, and Social & Behavioral Sciences.

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. It delivers a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

An online mental health film library of over 500 DSM 5 and ICD Guided Films provide viewers with training tools critical for symptom recognition. These films offer visual guideposts to better understand what a particular mental health diagnosis looks like and decrease the stigma for those facing psychological issues.

A collection of medical ebooks related to both nursing and pharmacy.

VisualDx is a clinical decision support tool: search by symptoms, visual clues and other patient factors, by diagnosis, or by medication. VisualDx clinical decision support provides instant access to concise disease information and high-quality medical images to assist in diagnosis, to direct testing, and to guide management and therapy decisions.

An exam review tool to help you prepare for the USMLE Step 1, 2 and 3. You will be prompted to register for an individual account the first time you access Board Vitals