A-Z Databases

General Databases

Don't know which database to choose? The databases listed below are very good general resources that should help you get started with any topic.

Academic Search Premier
contains indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
JSTOR Arts & Sciences
JSTOR offers high-quality, interdisciplinary content to support scholarship and teaching. It includes leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. Journals are always included from volume 1, issue 1 and include previous and unrelated titles.
ScienceDirect
Science Direct is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 3,900 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books. There are currently more than 9.5 million articles/chapters on subjects in the Health & Life Sciences, Physical Sciences, and Social & Behavioral Sciences.

New / Trial Databases

The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.

ACM Digital Library

New

ACM publications, including journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines, newsletters and books.

Chartmetric

New

Chartmetric is the all-in-one platform for artists and music industry professionals, providing comprehensive streaming, social, and audience data for everyone to create successful careers in music. To access Chartmetric's content, create a login using your Belmont email address.

Entertainment Industry Music Archive

New

This digital archive provides major trade and consumer magazines, from their inception to recent times, it arms students and researchers with the primary source material needed to develop a contextual understanding of the entertainment industry as it evolved over the 20th and 21st centuries. Access is available for Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive 4: Music – Folk, Rock & Hip Hop.

Luminate Film & TV Data

New

Complete this form in order to log in to Luminate Film & TV Data. Only 1 simultaneous user permitted.
Luminate is the leading entertainment data solution that provides verified, timely, and accurate information around people, projects, and companies that work in the global entertainment business. Use of this resource is limited to one (1) simultaneous user.

New York Times Archive (Times Machine)

New

The Times Machine is an archive of NYTimes content from 1851 - 2002. To access The Times Machine content, create an account at http://accessnyt.com/ using your Belmont email address. Once you've created your account, you can access NYTimes.com from anywhere, including via the NYTimes mobile apps! Every year, you'll need to log in to your account via the link above while on campus to keep it active.

SBRNet

New

A comprehensive online platform of nationwide sports business data and analytics, using syndicated and custom proprietary research for the professional and college sports categories as well as sports participation and equipment sales information.

Featured Databases

The most frequently-used databases

Academic Search Premier

Featured

contains indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

CINAHL Ultimate

Featured

the definitive resource for nursing and allied health research, providing full text for more than 900 journals. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU modules and research instruments

JSTOR Arts & Sciences

Featured

JSTOR offers high-quality, interdisciplinary content to support scholarship and teaching. It includes leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. Journals are always included from volume 1, issue 1 and include previous and unrelated titles.

ScienceDirect

Featured

Science Direct is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 3,900 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books. There are currently more than 9.5 million articles/chapters on subjects in the Health & Life Sciences, Physical Sciences, and Social & Behavioral Sciences.

Database Use Agreement

Users may download content from the resources above for personal, noncommercial use only. Users are also required to maintain all copyright and other notices contained in such content at all times. Posting content publicly or transmitting content to any third party is expressly prohibited without the express prior written consent of the owner of the content. This is not intended to limit or restrict your "fair use" rights under applicable law.

If you have questions or concerns about the use of these resources, please contact Brittany Mountford, the Electronic Resources Librarian.