Online and Print Resources for Philosophy
Last Updated: Jun 6, 2014
Click here to view course offerings.
Open Culture serves as an aggregater for free educational media. Plenty of free philosophy podcasts and video lectures exist on the internet, and now there is no need to spend hours searching for them in various places.
Open Culture offers dozens of philosophy courses provided by such universities as Oxford, Notre Dame, The University of Chicago and UC Berkley. There are courses on historical eras such as Ancient and Medieval Philosophy; historical figures such as Nietzsche, Kant or Hegel; specific works such as Plato's Republic or Heidegger's Being and Time; and topics including environmental ethics and death.
Philosophers talk big issues in small bites.
Try Bunch Library's OneSearch. It combines the library’s databases, catalog and other resources to provide a single search box for all library content.
This search box is preset to search only materials pertaining to philosophy.
If you'd rather search in particular databases instead of using OneSearch, we recommend the following databases:
- Philosopher's Index
A current and comprehensive bibliographic database covering scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy. The database covers the fifteen fields of philosophy: aesthetics, axiology, philosophy of education, epistemology, ethics, philosophy of history, philosophy of language, logic, metaphysics, philosophical anthropology, metaphilosophy, political philosophy, philosophy of science, social philosophy, and the philosophy of religion.
- Religion & Philosophy (TEL)
Articles from more than 250 magazines and Journals on religion, philosophy, archaeology, and anthropolog, and covers the impact of religion on culture. Many articles are full-text. The content in this database is also part of InfoTrac Onefile.
- Religion & Philosophy Collection
Religion and Philosophy Collection is a comprehensive database with nearly 300 full-text journals and unparalleled coverage of topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences
JSTOR offers high-quality, interdisciplinary content to support scholarship and teaching. It includes leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. Journals are always included from volume 1, issue 1 and include previous and unrelated titles.
Full text access to the following works:
- Anselm - Major Works
- The Continental Rationalists
- Kierkegaard - Journals and Papers
- Wittgenstein - Letters and Lectures
Look for more in the future!
Past Masters series encompasses the largest collection of full-text electronic editions in philosophy in the world. The series includes significant collections in the history of political thought and theory, religious studies, education, German studies, sociology, the history and philosophy of science, economics, and classics.
- Early Modern Texts
Dr. Jonathan Bennet has graciously taken the trouble of translating texts from early modern philosophy (roughly, from Machiavelli to Kant) into current day English. Even authors who wrote in English, such as Hume and Hobbes, have had their seminal works modernized, specifically with undergraduates in mind. Dr. Bennet's resources are particularly useful if you are having trouble grasping a specific philosophical concept, or even a singular passage from a book.
- Library Catalog
Search for books, journals, media and other items the library owns.
- A to Z list of all databases
A list of all of the databases that the library subscribes to, alphabetically by title.
Use this to access by title e-journals that the library subscribes to.
- Interlibrary Loan
Can't find it here? Borrow it from another library!
Search most of the library's resources from one search box.