Skip to main content

Music: In the Library

Begin your musical tour here. There's more to music than just notes!

About this page

On this page, you will find information about the Bunch Library Media Center and Music Special Collections.

Music Special Collections

Avaiable for research and by appointment only, the items in Music Special Collection include archival copies of all Belmont graduate music theses, historic hymnals,  sheet music and Ward-Belmont concert programs.   The Louis Nicholas Song Collection represents the cornerstone of these materials.

The Louis Nicholas Song Collection includes popular, classical and sacred vocal sheet music from the mid Nineteenth through the mid Twentieth Centuries. The music is stored in archival boxes in the Music Special Collections Room, and may be seen by appointment. While the scores do not circulate, photocopying may be permissible, depending on copyright restrictions. The files linked below represent the first and largest installment of the project, and included approximately 2500 titles. The PDF files are searchable by pressing the CTRL + F keys and typing in the search box that appears.

Online Special Collections Exhibits

Facsimile Collection Highlights

Media Center

Collection

The Media Center houses thousands of course-related CDs, VHS tapes, LP records, CD Roms, DVDs, cassette tapes, and software, as well as the necessary equipment for viewing and or listening. Trained staff are on duty to assist.

Media Circulation

 The Media Center is located between the Music and Education Libraries accessible through the door immediately to the left of the music reference desk.  Popular Media items (the browsing collection) circulate from the main desk on the first floor, and Instructional Media items (the closed stacks) circulate from the service desk in the Music Library. Media Reserves as well as Loanable Technology also circulate from the Music Library desk. The hours of operation for media circulation are the same as the Media Center.

Anyone with a valid Belmont ID may check out media following the Media Circulation Policies

Media Center Hours

Monday – Thursday
8:00am-10:00pm
Friday
8:00am-4:30pm

Saturday
9:00am-4:30pm
Sunday
2:00pm-10:00pm

 

*These times represent the Media Center hours. The Music and Education Libraries close with normal library hours.
** Please note: Hours will vary depending on the academic calendar. Exceptions include but are not limited to fall and spring breaks, Christmas, Easter, Maymester, and Summer Session. Please see posted hours or call to verify hours during these times. 

Media Center Staff

Equipment Manager/Marketing and Outreach

Brook Swiger
brook.swiger@belmont.edu    
(615) 
460-5485

-------------------------------------------------------
Music/Media Graduate Assistant

Meghan Perdue
meghan.perdue@pop.belmont.edu


----------------------------------------------------
2017-2018 Student Workers:

Ashley Abbink
​Morgan Dennis
​Brynna Farris
Cailey Garner
Nohea Hartman
Sarah McCutchan
​RJ McDowell
Meg Schenck