This is the "Media Center and Music Special Collections" page of the "Music Resources and Databases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Music Resources and Databases  

Begin your musical tour here. There's more to music than just notes!
Last Updated: Jul 7, 2014 URL: http://belmont.libguides.com/music Print Guide RSS Updates

Media Center and Music Special Collections Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Staff

 Assistant for

Daytime Services

Jennifer MacLean jennifer.maclean@belmont.edu   

460-5493

  Assistant for Evening/Weekend Services      

Brook McGinnis brook.mcginnis@belmont.edu        

 460-5493

 

 

As Well As

A stellar roster of student workers:

Summer 2014 LINEUP

Emma Veers

Fred Schmidt

Alex Drelich

Mitchell Davis

What's in it for me?

Collection

The Media Center houses thousands of course-related CDs, VHS tapes, LP records, CD Roms, DVDs, cassette tapes, and software, as well as the necessary equipment for viewing and or listening. Trained staff are on duty to assist.

Media Circulation

 The Media Center is located between the Music and Education Libraries accessible through the door immediately to the left of the music reference desk.  All media items, as well as media reserves, are checked out at the Media Circulation window, found inside the Media Center. The hours of operation for media circulation are the same as the Media Center (see General Hours below).

Anyone with a valid Belmont ID may check out media following the media circulation policies which are linked below.

Media reserve items typically circulate for 3 hours and may not be taken out of the Media Center by any borrower, including faculty, unless specified by the instructor of the course.

Professors wishing to place media items (videocasette, DVD, CD, etc.) on reserve should call Media Circulation or stop by in person. The process takes approximately three days.

Media Circulation: (615) 460-5493

Music Special Collections

Avaiable for research only, the items in Music Special Collection include archival copies of all Belmont graduate music theses, old hymnals,  sheet music and Ward-Belmont concert programs.   The Louis Nicholas Song Collection represents the cornerstone of these diverse materials.

The Louis Nicholas Song Collection includes popular, classical and sacred vocal sheet music from the mid Nineteenth through the mid Twentieth Centuries. The music is stored in archival boxes in the Music Special Collections Room, and may be seen by appointment. While the scores do not circulate, photocopying may be permissible, depending on copyright restrictions. The files linked below represent the first and largest installment of the project, and included approximately 2500 titles. The PDF files are searchable by pressing the CTRL + F keys and typing in the search box that appears.

 

Online Special Collections Exhibits

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip