Faculty Information: Ordering Materials

Each department has a Faculty Order Coordinator who helps with selection of materials for their discipline.  The order coordinator receives reviews for materials, receives requests for library materials from department faculty, attends library meetings related to collection development, and communicates information to department colleagues.  You may submit requests for any type of library material - books, journals, ebooks, or audiovisual media - to your order coordinator.  S/he will forward your requests to the library's acquisitions staff.

Fiscal year runs June 1 to May 31

June 1-September 30 – serials/subscription additions/cancellations/changes.

• September 30 – Last day to submit all serials/subscription orders and cancellations for the calendar year.
• Caroline Farmer manages the library's serials/subscriptions orders and cancellations.
• Please use the Serials Request form to the right to request new serials subscriptions.

June 1- December 15 – firm order submissions.

• December 15 – Last day to submit bulk (90%) of firm orders for the current fiscal year.
• Jenni MacLean manages firm orders for the library.
• Please use the spreadsheet above to submit firm orders to your library liaison.  The form to the right is for rush and/or reserve requests of a single item.

December 16-January 31 – last six weeks for firm order and database order requests.

• January 31 – Last day to submit final 10% of firm orders.
• Jenni MacLean manages firm orders for the library.
• Please use the spreadsheet above to submit firm orders to your library liaison.  The form to the right is for rush and/or reserve requests of a single item.

FOR DATABASES - New subscriptions can only start between June and November.

• July 10 - Last day to submit request form for review before August 1 start.
• October 10 - Last day to submit request form for review before November 1 start.
• Databases requests received after October 10 will be considered for budget requests for the next fiscal year.  Please use the form to the right to request a new database.

Questions: acquisitions@belmont.edu

Asset Management Staff: 

Caroline Farmer, Assistant Supervisor for Serials

caroline.farmer@belmont.edu, ext. 5493

Courtney Fuson, Asset Management Librarian

courtney.fuson@belmont.edu, ext. 5492

Jenni MacLean, Library Assistant for Systems & Acquisitions
jennifer.maclean@belmont.edu, ext 5457

Faculty may request materials for the library to purchase and add to its collection.  You may find these materials through publisher websites, advertisements, articles, reference lists, personal recommendations, or other reliable reviewing sources, including reviews that library staff provide to your library faculty representative.

Please submit all requests to your order coordinator.  Please include as much information as possible about the requested item - title, author, editor, ISBN, publisher, edition, format, etc.  The ordering spreadsheet to the left can help you ensure you've included as much information as possible.

Once a request is received in the library, acquisitions staff will research availability and best price for the item, and the order process will begin.  If the item is not available or will take an especially long time to arrive, your order coordinator will be notified and asked how to proceed.

Should you need a rush order, please use the Book Request form below.  We will do our best to expedite the order.  In some cases, an interlibrary loan may be an alternative.

Serial Requests:  
For journal requests:
https://belmont.libwizard.com/E-Journal-Request-Form 

Book Requests:
For rush orders and single title material requests:
http://belmont.libwizard.com/Book-and-Media-Purchase-Request-Form

Database Requests:
For database requests:
http://belmont.libwizard.com/databaserequest

Access to this resource is available on and off-campus, but you will need to create an account while on campus to access the content from off-site.

Information is available on the Choice website on how to create alerts for reviews in your discipline - please see the User Guide and FAQ page: http://choicereviews.org/faq

Streaming Video requests can be made via Kanopy or Swank as well as directly to Courtney Fuson via email.  If you are unable to locate a film, please email the title to Courtney and she will check the streaming platforms available to the library to see if we can purchase access.

Kanopy Requests

To submit a request for a Kanopy title, go to the Kanopy website and search for the film you want.  If it's in Kanopy but not accessible to Belmont users, there will be a request form below the preview of the film.  That request form is sent directly to Courtney for processing.  Titles are generally activated in 48 hours or so, depending on when the approval is sent to Kanopy. Access to requested films does expire after 1 year.

Swank Requests

To request a Swank title, you'll need to have an Instructor account for Swank.  To create your account, go to the Swank website and click Login in the top right of the screen.  You should see "Create Instructor Account" under the login button.  Once you've created your account, you'll be able to search the whole Swank catalog and use their request form to request access to a film.  These requests are also sent directly to Courtney for approval.  Film access is available approximately 48 hours after Swank receives the approval of the request. Access to requested films does expire after 1 year.