Skip to main content

Faculty Information: Linking to Library Resources

A guide designed to show you what Bunch Library can do for you!

Proxy Server Update

As of August 16, 2017, the library has changed the way the proxy server is set up for off campus access.  This means that any link that you are using that starts with http://teach.belmont.edu:2048/login?url= will no longer work.  Please change it to a link that begins with https://bunchproxy.idm.oclc.org/login?url=.  If you have any questions, please contact Courtney Fuson.

Linking to Library Resources

The library's databases offer a wealth of information for you to share with your students.  If you'd like to add a link to a specific article to your syllabus or Blackboard, please feel free to do so.  The instructions on this page will help you, and if you need further assistance, please don't hesitate to contact Courtney Fuson.

Linking from EBSCOHost

Many of the library's major databases are provided by EBSCOHost.  This includes databases such as Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, ATLA Religion Database, CINAHL, Education Full Text, Education Research Complete, Medline, SocINDEX, and several others.  

In order to provide a link to a particular article in one of these databases, search for articles as you normally would.  When you find an article you'd like to share, click on the Permalink Tool on the right.  A box will appear with a link in it.  Copy this link and paste it wherever you'd like your students to have access to it.  This link should work from both on and off campus.

 

ebsco

(Click on the photo to enlarge it)

Linking from JSTOR

To link to a particular article in JSTOR, you'll need to use the Stable URL that is given on the page for the article.  Search for articles as you normally would, and when you find one you'd like to share, copy the Stable URL.  Before you share this link with your students, you'll need to add something to make it work from off-campus.  Paste the link where you'd like to use it and add https://bunchproxy.idm.oclc.org/login?url= to the beginning.  For the example in the photo, the url would read: https://bunchproxy.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://www.jstor.org/stable/4122902.  This ensures that students will be required to log-in if they are off-campus.  On-campus students will not be affected.

 

jstor

(Click on the photo to enlarge it)

Linking from LexisNexis

To link to a particular article in LexisNexis, search for the article as you normally would.  When you find one you'd like to share, click on the Copy Document Link button in the top right of the brown toolbar.  This will bring up a box with instructions for how to copy the direct URL to the article.  Before you share this link with your students, you'll need to add something to make it work from off-campus. Paste the link where you'd like to use it and add https://bunchproxy.idm.oclc.org/login?url= to the beginning. For the example in the photo, the url would read: https://bunchproxy.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://www.lexisnexis.com/lnacui2api/api/version1/getDocCui?lni=51R4-YTX1-DYRK-B3G2&csi=7945&hl=t&hv=t&hnsd=f&hns=t&hgn=t&oc=00240&perma=true. This ensures that students will be required to log-in if they are off-campus. On-campus students will not be affected.

 

lexisnexis

(Click on the photo to enlarge it)

Linking from Ovid databases

To link to articles in an Ovid database, you'll need to use the Email jumpstart tool on the right hand side.  When you click Email jumpstart, a small box will appear with a URL in it.  This is the direct URL to your article.  Before you share this link with your students, you'll need to add something to make it work from off-campus. Paste the link where you'd like to use it and add https://bunchproxy.idm.oclc.org/login?url=  to the beginning. For the example in the photo, the url would read: https://bunchproxy.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&CSC=Y&NEWS=N&PAGE=fulltext&AN=00006223-201109000-00015&LSLINK=80&D=ovft. This ensures that students will be required to log-in if they are off-campus. On-campus students will not be affected.

 

Ovid

(Click on the photo to enlarge it)

Linking from Project Muse

To provide a link to an article from Project Muse, simply search for articles as you normally would.  When you find an article you'd like to share, use the URL in the address bar to share it with your students.  Before you share this link with your students, you'll need to add something to make it work from off-campus. Paste the link where you'd like to use it and add https://bunchproxy.idm.oclc.org/login?url= to the beginning. For the example in the photo, the url would read: https://bunchproxy.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://muse.jhu.edu/article/266050. This ensures that students will be required to log-in if they are off-campus. On-campus students will not be affected.

 

projectmuse

(Click on the photo to enlarge it)

Linking from ProQuest databases

To provide a link to an article from a ProQuest database, simply search for articles as you normally would.  When you find an article you'd like to share, click on the Cite tool in the blue bar above the article.  You'll need to change the citation type to APA or Chicago to see the link.  Once you have a citation that has the link, you can copy the direct link to the article.  Before you share this link with your students, you'll need to add something to make it work from off-campus. Paste the link where you'd like to use it and add https://bunchproxy.idm.oclc.org/login?url= to the beginning. For the example in the photo, the url would read: https://bunchproxy.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/109829167?accountid=8570. This ensures that students will be required to log-in if they are off-campus. On-campus students will not be affected

proquest

(Click on the photo to enlarge it)

Linking from ScienceDirect

To provide a link to an article from Science Direct, simply search for articles as you normally would.  When you find an article you'd like to share, use the URL in the address bar to share it with your students.  Before you share this link with your students, you'll need to add something to make it work from off-campus. Paste the link where you'd like to use it and add https://bunchproxy.idm.oclc.org/login?url=  to the beginning. For the example in the photo, the url would read: https://bunchproxy.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/s0362331903000922. This ensures that students will be required to log-in if they are off-campus. On-campus students will not be affected.

 

sciencedirect

(Click on the photo to enlarge it)

Linking from TEL Databases

The Tennessee Electronic Library is a free resource available to the residents of the state of Tennessee.  It encompasses a wide variety of databases and topics.  If you'd like to link to an article from these databases, simply search for the article as you normally would.  When you find an article you'd like to share, click on the Bookmark flag near the search box.  This will bring up a small screen with the Bookmark URL.  You can use this URL wherever you'd like to share the article.

 

TEL linking

(Click on the photo to enlarge it)

Courtney Fuson

Courtney Fuson's picture
Courtney Fuson
Contact:
Bunch Library, 2nd Floor
615-460-5492