A guide to resources for research in the fields of journalism and media studies
Last Updated: Oct 25, 2013
If the full-text isn't directly linked in the database you're searching, do not lose hope!
Click on the 360 Link icon and follow the directions to obtain the full text in another database, in the library, or via Interlibrary Loan.
The Journal of Broadcasting & Electronic Media is the scholarly journal published quarterly by the Broadcast Education Association. It contains timely articles about new developments, trends and research in electronic media written by academicians, researchers and other electronic media professionals.
- Columbia International Affairs Online
A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs, covering a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals, policy briefs, and original case studies written by leading international affairs experts.
- Communications & Mass Media (TEL)
This collection provides current and accurate information from more than 100 journals focused on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects covered include: advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and many more.
- LexisNexis Academic
Access over 6,000 news, business, and legal sources. The outstanding news coverage includes deep backfiles and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources.
- CQ Researcher Plus Archive
CQ Researcher offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of today's most important issues. Each report is on a single topic-more than 12,000 words of text and extensive bibliographies. The CQ Researcher has been the choice of librarians for over 80 years. Each weekly issue provides up-to-date information on controversial subjects written by CQ's staff of experienced reporters.
- Opposing Viewpoints (TEL)
Opposing Viewpoints provides contextual information and opinions on current important social issues. Included are continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text articles from academic journals, magazines, and newspapers and statistics and images.
- Internet Public Library
Browse newspapers from across the country and around the world.
- Memphis Commercial Appeal
Full text of the Memphis Commercial Appeal from April 25, 2000 to November 21, 2012.
- New York Times
Web site of the New York Times - not all content is available without a subscription
- Historic New York Times (1851-2007)
The New York Times (1851-2007) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
National Public Radio, America's pre-eminent news institution
This library database contains the full text of the Tennessean from 2002 to the present.
- Tennessean Online
Web site of the Tennessean
- Wall Street Journal
Web site of the Wall Street Journal - not all content available without a subscription
- Washington Post
Web site of the Washington Post - not all content available without a subscription