This is the "Home" page of the "Sport Sciences" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Sport Sciences  

resources for students in Sport Science
Last Updated: Nov 7, 2012 URL: http://belmont.libguides.com/sportscience Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Quick Links

  • New Library Catalog
    The library's catalog got a facelift! Check it out and search for books, journals, media and other items the library owns.
  • Library Catalog (CUB Cat)
    Search the library's catalog for books, journals, media and other items the library owns.
  • A to Z list of all databases
    A list of all of the databases that the library subscribes to, alphabetically by title.
  • E-journals
    Use this to access by title e-journals that the library subscribes to.
  • Interlibrary Loan
    Can't find it here? Borrow it from another library!
 

Call Numbers

The following sections of the library should contain relevant information:

 

GV1-1860 Recreation. Leisure

GV181.35-181.6 Recreation leadership. Administration of recreation services

GV201-555 Physical education and training

GV557-1198.995 Sports

GV711 Coaching

L7-991  Education (General)

LB5-3640  Theory and practice of education

QM1-695 Human anatomy

QP1-(981) Physiology

RA773-788 Personal health and hygiene (Including clothing, bathing, exercise, travel, nutrition, sleep, sex hygiene)

RC620-627 Nutritional diseases. Deficiency diseases

RC1200-1245 Sports medicine

RJ125-145 Physiology of children and adolescents

RJ206-235 Nutrition and feeding of children and adolescents

RM695-893 Physical medicine. Physical therapy (Including massage, exercise, occupational therapy, hydrotherapy, phototherapy, radiotherapy, thermotherapy, electrotherapy)

TX341-641 Nutrition. Foods and food supply

Databases

The databases listed below contain a variety of sources that may be helpful.

  • Cochrane Library
    a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Cochrane reviews represent the highest level of evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions. In addition to Cochrane reviews, The Cochrane Library provides other sources of reliable information, from other systematic review abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations and individual clinical trials - all the current evidence in one single environment.
  • Education Full Text
    Education Full Text brings you comprehensive coverage of an international range of English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks. Full text of articles cover to cover, from hundreds of journals, make this a one-stop source for research
  • Education Research Complete
    The most authoritative online resource for education research. This massive file offers the world's largest and most complete collection of full-text education journals. It is a bibliographic and full-text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
  • ERIC Education Index
    The Educational Resources Information Center is a collection of more than 1 million records of journal articles and other education-related materials. Other materials found in this database include books, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and publications from various organizations. These items are not available in full text from ERIC.
  • Expanded Academic ASAP (TEL)
    From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers - many with full text and images!
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).
  • General OneFile (TEL)
    A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.
  • Health & Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI)
    Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) is a database that provides access to information on approximately 15,000 measurement instruments (i.e. questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, coding schemes, rating scales, etc.) in the fields of health and psychosocial sciences.
  • Health & Wellness Resource Center (TEL)
    Provides instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials. Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, numerous reference volumes, over 700 health videos from partner Healthology, Inc., hundreds of pamphlets and health-related articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to a broad collection of reference titles. Material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only.
  • JSTOR Arts & Sciences
    JSTOR offers high-quality, interdisciplinary content to support scholarship and teaching. It includes leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. Journals are always included from volume 1, issue 1 and include previous and unrelated titles.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Access over 6,000 news, business, and legal sources. The outstanding news coverage includes deep backfiles and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources. Use the included Company Dossier module to retrieve detailed company information and financial performance measures or identify and compare companies matching specific criteria.
  • MEDLINE
    MEDLINE is a collection of 11.8 million citations for articles from international biomedical journals from 1966 to the present. Limited full-text articles are available through this database.
  • ProQuest Dissertations & Theses
    With more than 2 million entries, PQD&T is the single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include abstracts written by the author. Titles available as native or image PDF formats include free twenty-four page previews. Full-text of dissertations can be ordered from UMI for a fee. Dissertations can also be requested via InterLibrary Loan

Ask a Librarian

Profile Image
Courtney Fuson
If I don't answer, please leave a message with your contact information and I'll get back to you!
Logo - AIMLogo - Google TalkLogo - LinkedInLogo - MSNLogo - TwitterLogo - Yahoo IM
Contact Info
Bunch Library, 3rd Floor
Phone: 615-460-5492
Make an appointment!
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip