Social Work resource guide
Last Updated: Oct 10, 2013
- Encyclopedia of Social Work
Over 400 overview articles, on key topics ranging from international issues to ethical standards, offer students, scholars, and practitioners a trusted foundation for a lifetime of work and research, with new articles and revisions to existing articles added regularly.
If the full-text isn't directly linked in the database you're searching, do not lose hope!
Click on the 360 Link icon and follow the directions to obtain the full text in another database, in the library, or via Interlibrary Loan.
- SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. Its extensive scope and content provide users with a wealth of extremely useful information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study.
- Sociological Collection
Sociological Collection provides coverage of more than 500 full text journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed titles. Sociological Collection offers information in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure.
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences
JSTOR offers high-quality, interdisciplinary content to support scholarship and teaching. It includes leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. Journals are always included from volume 1, issue 1 and include previous and unrelated titles.
- Academic Search Premier
contains indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
- Child Welfare Information Gateway
Child Welfare Information Gateway provides access to information and resources to help protect children and strengthen families. The Children's Bureau is now able to provide professionals working in child abuse prevention and in family support, foster care, and other interrelated fields with information and resources across the full spectrum of child welfare topics to help protect children and strengthen families.
- CINAHL Complete
providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature and supports nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers.
- ERIC Education Index
The Educational Resources Information Center is a collection of more than 1 million records of journal articles and other education-related materials. Other materials found in this database include books, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and publications from various organizations. These items are not available in full text from ERIC.
- PsycINFO & PsycARTICLES
The American Psychological Association's comprehensive international index to citations and abstracts (not full text) of journals and other literature in psychology and relevant materials from related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, education, social work, law, criminology, social science, and organizational behavior. Includes access to PsycARTICLES.
Science Direct is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books. There are currently more than 9.5 million articles/chapters on subjects in the Health & Life Sciences, Physical Sciences, and Social & Behavioral Sciences.