Online and Print Resources for English
Last Updated: Sep 11, 2013
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences
JSTOR offers high-quality, interdisciplinary content to support scholarship and teaching.
- Project MUSE
Project MUSE is collection of several hundred titles in the arts, humanities and social sciences from 60 university and society presses.
- MLA International Bibliography
Index to citations and abstracts (not full text) of selected journal articles and books in the field of literature.
- Literature Resource Center (TEL)
Provides biographical information, literary criticism, reviews, and overviews on more than 130,000 writers.
- Literary Encyclopedia
Entries in The Literary Encyclopedia are divided into three databases, People, Works and Topics & Events. The Encyclopedia has very good coverage of English, American, Canadian, German and Russian literature as well as substantial and increasing coverage of French, Italian, Japanese, Classical Greek, Latin, Hispanic and East European literature.
- Oxford Reference Online
Search various English language reference sources including dictionaries, thesauruses, encyclopedias, quotation collections, and more.
- Oxford English Dictionary
Available in print at Ref PE 1625 .M7
The guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
- Book Review Digest Retrospective
Over 1.5 million book review citations and at least one substantial review excerpt (up to 500 words) per book for 300,000 books published between 1908 and 1982.