Biology resource guide
Last Updated: Jul 10, 2012
- Academic Search Premier
contains indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
- Biochemical Journal
search or browse for articles from 1906 to one year ago in this refereed journal.
- Cold Spring Harbor Symposia on Quantitative Biology
The double helix, the genetic code, jumping genes, the PCR technique, the human genome project, RNA interference ... These and hundreds of other important advances in biology were announced, debated, and distilled at the Cold Spring Harbor Symposia. These meetings, held each year on tranquil grounds of one of the world's leading research institutes, have been notable events in biomedical research since 1933. Now this essential archive, dating from 1933 to 2003, is available online.
- General Science Collection (TEL)
Millions of articles from over 1,600 magazines, journals and reference materials on all aspects of the sciences.
- Oxford Reference Online
This site provides the full-text to over a hundred well-known Oxford dictionaries and reference books, plus an encyclopedia. Encompasses English dictionaries and thesauruses, modern European languages (French, German, Italian, Spanish), quotations, and handbooks. Subjects covered include art and architecture, classics, history, literature, mythology and folklore, performing arts, politics and social sciences, religion and philosophy, economics and business, law, and many more.
PNAS is one of the world's most-cited multidisciplinary scientific serials. Since its establishment in 1914, it continues to publish cutting-edge research reports, commentaries, reviews, perspectives, colloquium papers, and actions of the Academy. Coverage in PNAS spans the biological, physical, and social sciences
Science Direct is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books. There are currently more than 9.5 million articles/chapters on subjects in the Health & Life Sciences, Physical Sciences, and Social & Behavioral Sciences.
- Scientific American Archive Online
Scientific American Archive Online offers every issue of Scientific American, the premier science magazine, from 1993 to present.
Information available here.
SciFinder Scholar provides access to a wide selection of research from many disciplines, includeing biomedical sciences, chemistry and more. There are references from more than 10,000 current journals and patents from many patent authorities. SciFinder Scholar is also searchable by chemical structure, bio