Research Guides: Music Business: Databases

Trade Publications

Billboard
Access from 1994-present available online through the Business Source complete database.
Music Row
Nashville's music industry publication
Music Trades
Access from 2010-present available online through the Business Source Complete database.
Music Week
Access from 2002-present available online through the Business Source Complete database.
Paste Magazine
Pop-culture news including books, tv, movies, music, videogames, and just about everything else.
Rolling Stone
Available online and current print issues available in the Music Library on the first floor.

Databases

Business Source Complete
A scholarly business database providing a collection of bibliographic and full text content in all disciplines of business. Indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included. Additional full text, non-journal content includes SWOT analyses, financial data, books, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, and industry, country, company, and market research reports.
Music Connect
Music Connect is a web-based tool that gives you a complete view of music consumption across airplay, sales, streaming, and social data for artists, albums, and songs, all in one place. As the official source of the Billboard charts with over 25 years of historical data, this interface connects multiple metrics to give you a comprehensive view of performance and trends across the music industry.
Use of this resource is limited to one (1) simultaneous user.
Complete this form in order to log in to Music Connect.
Music Industry Data
Music Industry Data is a database of popular music chart data from around the world. From the US, UK, Europe, South America and Asia, Music Industry Data delivers access to an authoritative database under exclusive academic license from Billboard, the Official Charts Company and many more.
Rock's Backpages
The ultimate archive of music journalism...OVER 25,000 CLASSIC ARTICLES on artists from Aaliyah to ZZ Top, on all genres from rockabilly to hip hop, by the finest music writers of the last 50 years.
Rolling Stone Archive
Complete backfile of Rolling Stone, from 1967 to the present
AES Electronic Library
contains over 12,000 fully searchable PDF files documenting the progression of audio research from 1953 to the present day. The E-library includes every AES paper published at a convention, conference or in the Journal.
Music Periodicals Database (IIMP)
Music Periodicals Database (IIMP) provides indexing, abstracting and selected full-text coverage of the most important scholarly and popular music journals published today.
WestlawNext Campus Research
With a new, improved interface, Campus Research is even easier to use to access a comprehensive collection of news and business information and law-related resources including legal encyclopedias; full-text federal and state court decisions, statutes and administrative materials; Harvard Law Review and 600-plus other law reviews and journals; and expertly authored treatises.
Nexis Uni
Access over 6,000 news, business, and legal sources. The outstanding news coverage includes deep back files and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources.

Search Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a way to search across many scholarly disciplines and sources while using the familiar Google interface. Resources include articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar allows users to search across more than just normal web sites with non scholarly results filtered out.